How to properly delete all your personal data before selling your smartphone

A few simple steps can help you protect your data before you part ways with your handset.


Whether it’s photos, administrative documents, browsing histories or bank card numbers, it’s important to take maximum precautions when resetting your smartphone. Evidently, it would be unthinkable to sell your handset as it is, simply by emptying its photo gallery or by deleting just a few applications.

What to do before selling your smartphone

Before parting with your smartphone, you should start by backing up your multimedia data, including photos, videos, documents, music, etc.

This operation can be done quite simply via a computer, using iTunes when you have an iPhone or Android File Transfer for other devices. It is also possible to choose to copy everything to the cloud, via an online storage service such as iCloud, Google Drive or Photos.

ALSO SEE: How to deactivate or permanently delete your Facebook account

Next, it’s time to reset your phone, which will delete all the data on the device and restore it to its factory settings, just as it was on day one.

As a security measure, you should first manually delete the various Wi-Fi connections stored on any phone and remember to disable iMessage on your iPhone. Then, simply go to Settings / System / Reset options on Android or Settings / General / Transfer or Reset iPhone on iOS.

When specified, be sure to choose the option that deletes absolutely all data. Then you can give away or resell your smartphone with peace of mind.

LISTEN: How to properly delete personal data on your smartphone

Read more on these topics

Android Data smartphones

Access premium news and stories

Access to the top content, vouchers and other member only benefits