3 minute read
11 Sep 2013
9:00 am

A festival of speed at Kyalami

The 2013 Extreme Racing Festival series will visit Kyalami on Saturday with seven racing categories making up a full day of competitive action.

BIG FIELD: Some 30 cars will tackle the Goldwagen SuperHatch races and Hilton van Nieuwenhuizen (ASAP Peugeot)will be a winning contender. Picture: Paul Blackburn

* Top billing on the day will belong to the dotsure.co.za Extreme Supercar category with some 20 exotic racers taking to the tarmac twice. After a series of victories earlier this season the combination to beat should be Charl Arrangies and his Motul/Martin Morgan Dodge Viper V10.

The youngster in his huge, eight-litre engined car will face rapid competition from the likes of Deon du Plessis (X-Cars KTM X-Bow), Mark du Toit (TAR Ferrari 360), Willem van der Westhuizen (C3 Engineers Ferrari F360), Craig Jarvis (Panacea Porsche GT3) and Ricky Giannoccaro (G&H Transport BMW M3).

Others to watch will include Chris Wishart (Dodge Viper), Christo Lotter (Exceed Gears Porsche GT3), George Smalberger (Regent Golf GTI) and Barry Nel (B-Tech Porsche 944).

The Hankook Formula Vee brigade will see championship leader Scott Temple (Ferodo Rhema 2) facing rivals like Alan Holm (Lasersprint Rhema 2), Greg Wilson (Reflex Solutions Rhema 2), Gert van den Berg (BP Nantes Motors Rhema 2), Peter Hills (Renexcon Rhema 2), Henk Swanepoel (Renexcon Rhema 2) and Trystan Alford (CG Print Rhema 2). If Temple wins the day’s races he will clinch the 2013 championship.

Stewart MacLeod (SEW Eurodrive ZX10R) will aim for his usual two Red Square Kawasaki Masters race victories. Taking him on will be the likes of Gavin Lightfoot (Pta North Toyota ZX10R), Pieter de Vos (Silverton Bolt ZX10R), Johan le Roux (Avidan ZX10R), Paul Jacobs (SEW Eurodrive ZX10R) and Tony Klem (Frontier Diamons ZX10R).

Joining the fray after almost a decade of inactivity will be former champion Graeme van Breda (Kawasaki ZX10R) who will lock horns with riders like Andre van Vollenstee (GM Tommy Martin ZX10R), Robbie Breakspear (Transport.co.za ZX10R) and Kyle Robinson (Tech Group ZX10R).

The Goldwagen SuperHatch category should see some 30 cars on track competing in three separate classes. In Class A Hilton van Nieuwenhuizen (ASAP Peugeot 206), Brett Garland (Jonnesway Honda Civic), Pierre Lubbe (Harness Audi A3), Geoff Tugwell (VW Golf) and Mark du Toit in the TAR Ford Fiesta ST should fight for the race victories in close contests.

Nic Martin (REX Gearbox Opel Kadett), Jaco Kriel (CIR Auto Opel), Andre Pooh (AC Group VW Golf) and Ryan Quan-Chai (Leeson Honda Civic) will be the top Class B contenders. Louise van der Walt (Ace Graphic Ford Fiesta), Marius Roberts (Tyre Shield Opel Kadett), Morne Human (Ford Fiesta) and Pieter Pienaar (VW Golf) should fight for top places in Class C.

The 111 Sports and Saloon car category will boast five classes and a wide variety of cars. Fighting for overall victories will be competitors like George Bezuidenhout (The Forkman Nissan Primera), Harry Arrangies (Vaal Fluids Porsche 944), Jacques Viljoen (C3 Engineers Porsche RSR), Marius Wait (Ford Mustang), Adam Starostecki (G&H BMW M3) and Joel Silva (Speed and Sound BMW).

Anthony Shelley (Full Throttle Kawasaki), Chris du Plessis (Honda CBR1000), Tony Klem (Frontier Diamonds Kawasaki), Nico van der Merwe (Genrock Honda CBR) and Jonathan de Vos (Avidan Kawasaki) should all run up front in the two TK Imports Thunderbike races. Top riders include Terence Cooke (Frequency Automation Kawasaki), Richard Papageorgiou (BHP Kawasaki), Tonio Hoffman (KTM RC8), Jeanine du Randt (Suzuki), Wendy Odendaal (Truimph) and Paul Webber (Nine-D Kawasaki).

The Kyalami paddock will host a Nitro Crew Show and Shine competition with a flea market.

Kyalami’s gates will be open from 6am with racing scheduled to start at 10am.

Admission is R80 per adult and R50 per student with children under the age of 12 free.

For the full race day programme visit www.zwartkops.co.za.