1 minute read
18 Sep 2013
9:00 am

Five SA karting titles on the line

The fourth and final round of the 2013 SA Rotax Max Challenge kart championship will be held at Zwartkop on Saturday with the titles in all five categories of the series still undecided.

CLOSE: All five of this year's SA Rotax Max challenge championship titles will be finalised at Zwartkops on Saturday.

The stakes are high. The winner in each category will earn not only South African national champion status, but a trip to the Rotax world championship which this year will be held in New Orleans in November.

Topping the day’s racing in terms of sheer pace will be the DD2 gearbox category. Gauteng’s Ryan Frost leads the series but his lead is far from unassailable.

Those still able to overhaul him include Eugene Britz, Luke van Rensburg, Nicholas Verheul, Luca Canderle and Darren Oates.

The DD2 Masters Category should produce a title fight between Marouan Selmi, Richard van Heerde, Conor Hughs and Jason Plumbly. The Senior Max category could see title contest between Luke Herring, Chad van Beurden, Richard Upton and Eugene Denyssen.

Jurie Swart, of Cape Town, will lead the title race in Junior Max. He is running ahead of Bradley Liebenberg and Jordan Sherrat on the points table, with Keagan Masters able to win and upset the applecart.

The Maxterino feeder class for young drivers on the Rotax ladder is headed up by Stuart White, of the Free State, followed by Chayse Augustus, of KZN, and Dario Bussi from the Western Cape.