All Blacks robbed of try against Boks?

A New Zealand publication has claimed that World Rugby has privately said that an All Blacks’ try that was disallowed should have indeed stood.

World Rugby has reportedly conceded that Aaron Smith’s disallowed try in the world cup final between New Zealand and eventual champs, the Springboks, should have stood.

The All Blacks’ scrum-half’s score in a 12-11 defeat to the Boks in France was ruled out. The disallowed try, resulting from a knock-on at a lineout, occurred in the 54th minute after a break by Richie Mo’unga.

According to New Zealand’s Stuff, the controversial ruling has been acknowledged privately by World Rugby as a breach of the rules, yet remains unacknowledged publicly.

Television match official (TMO) Tom Foley identified the knock-on four phases before Smith’s attempt, which is understood to have exceeded the two-phase limit for TMO reviews per World Rugby’s mid-2022 protocol update.

The final, marked by flashpoint moments including a red card for All Blacks skipper Sam Cane and a yellow card for Bok captain Siya Kolisi, also featured Faf de Klerk’s unpenalised refusal to put the ball into a scrum with South Africa under pressure in the second half.

Read original story on

Back to top button