Tristan dominates Bronkhorstspruit MX Nationals

Double championship leader Tristan Purdon was, without doubt, the man of the meeting as he did a double-double to win both heats in both MX1 and MX 2 at the weekend' Cannabis Energy Drink TRP Distributors South African National Motocross Championship races at Chestnut Hill in Bronkhorstspruit.

It was also a day of ties as several riders shared the spoils across the classes, while others went far closer to form.

Red Bull KTM star Purdon romped home to a dominant double open class MX1 win on his Red Bull KTM. Red Bull KTM teammate Cameron Durow, David Goosen’s Rockstar Energy Drink Husqvarna and Jesse Wright’s Yamaha were second, third and fourth in both races, as Purdon doubled his title advantage over Goosen. KTM trio, Jayden Proctor, Johan Vogelesang and Arnu Saaiman duked it out for fifth.

Purdon also romped to the quarter-litre MX2 double on his Red Bull KTM to grow his championship advantage there too. His pursuers ended in a three way tie for second. KTM teammate Cameron Durow and David Goosen’s Rockstar Husqvarna and each took a second and a fifth as Dalton Venter’s Yamaha took both moto third places. Twice fourth, Joshua Mlimi and Jayden Proctor’s KTMs ended fifth and sixth for the day ahead of Christiaan Cilliers’ Yamaha.

Over-30s rider Grant Frerichs continued his MX3 title charge on his Husqvarna. He took another double victory over over-40s winner Ian Topliss on a Yamaha. Second Over-30 man home Ryan Frerich’s Yamaha was third overall from over-40s Honda duo Bruce Viljoen and Phillip Harper and Over-30s man Oscar Masango on a Husqvarna.

Kayla Raaff was back to her old self as she sped to a double Ladies motocross win on her Kawasaki. Raaff kept title rival Leah Heygate ’s KTM in second in both motos to double her title advantage with the de Lima sisters, Husqvarna-mounted Cheyenne and Jadene on a KTM, in pursuit.

Jonathan Mlimi made no mistakes as he took an iron grip of the High School 125cc Motocross championship on his Red Bull KTM. He beat Miguel de Waal in both races, whose KTM closed in on Ethan Hoffman’s Out of Africa Monster Energy Yamaha in the title chase. Hoffman was beaten to third by both Luke Grundy’s Husqvarna and KTM lad and Barend du Toit, with Cuan Conway’s GasGas and Callan Broskie’s Ridgeway Husqvarna next home.

85cc Pro Mini proved another brilliant fight. Second race winner Neil van der Vyver’s Rockstar Husqvarna, double second placed rider Emmanuel Bako’s KTM and opening moto winner Trey Cox on a Red Bull KTM were split by just two points at the end of the day.

Jono Mlimi – 125.

Husqvarna duo Ryan Adler and Jordan van Wyk were next up ahead of Tristan Durow’s KTM. Cox left Gauteng in a 7 point title advantage over new second place man van der Vyver, van Wyk and Bako.

Championship leader, KTM rider Matthew Correia consolidated his 85cc Junior motocross championship lead to more than a race win worth of points. His title rivals Andrew Venter on another KTM and Tyler Petersen’s KTM shared out the second places ahead of first race third lad Caden Wiese’s Husqvarna and Kassim Hassim on a KTM.

The 65cc motocross day also went more or less to form as GasGas lad Blade Tilley and KTM kid Blake Frost his shared out the race wins and second places to leave the top of that title chase static. Third in the championship, Aiden Henley’s Out of Africa Monster Energy Yamaha took both third places, with Husqvarna trio Nicol Smit, Sven Larsen and Christopher Brindley next up.

There was however a bit of a turn up for the books in baby class 50cc motocross as second race winner Aiden Retief’s KTM and double second on the day, Rayden Woolls’ GasGas held first moto winner and championship leader Trenton Kretzmann’s Perry Husqvarna to a three way draw. That kept that title chase exactly as it was too. Casper van Zyl’s KTM, Maxwell Fourie’s Cobra and Joshua Peters-Newman on a Husqvarna were next home

Tristan Purdon – MX1.

Bloemfontein hosts the penultimate next round of the Cannabis Energy Drink TRP Distributors South African National Motocross Championship on 23 October.

The 2021 South African National Motocross Championship is proudly presented by Motorsport South Africa in partnership with Cannabis Energy Drink, TRP Distributors, Prepsol, Bridgestone, Thor, Gaerne, FMF, Pro Taper, 100%, Fly Racing, Ogio, Bandit Graffix and the Race Shop.

Source: MotorsportMedia / Photos: Wouter Vermaak

Exit mobile version