Local news

Fabulous reads: Debut author pens puzzling mystery thriller

Book overview - The Fellowship of Puzzlemakers by Samuel Burr

The Fellowship of Puzzlemakers, Samuel Burr, Orion, 9781398712317

THE gloriously uplifting, nostalgic and wonderfully puzzling debut novel from Samuel Burr, perfect for fans of The Thursday Murder Club and Lessons in Chemistry.

Sometimes finding your place in the world is the greatest puzzle of all…

‘Utterly beautiful. I adored it’ – Joanne Cannon

Clayton Stumper is an enigma.

He might be twenty-five years old, but he dresses like your grandad and drinks sherry like your aunt.

‘Hugely uplifting and wonderful’ – AJ Pearce

Abandoned at birth on the steps of the Fellowship of Puzzlemakers, he was raised by the sharpest minds in the British Isles and finds himself amongst the last survivors of a fading institution.

When the esteemed crossword compiler, Pippa Allsbrook, passes away, she bestows her final puzzle to him: a promise to reveal the mystery of his parentage and prepare him for his future.

‘A ripping yarn full of warmth and wonder’ – Beth Morrey

Yet as Clay begins to unpick the clues, he uncovers something even the Fellowship have never been able to solve – and it’s a secret that will change everything…

The Fellowship of Puzzlemakers is pure joy, a story about love and family and what it means to find your peopleā€”no matter what age you are.

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Samuel Burr is a TV producer who has worked on popular factual shows including the BAFTA-nominated Secret Life of 4-Year-Olds.

Samuel’s writing was selected for Penguin’s WriteNow scheme and in 2021 he graduated from the Faber Academy. He previously studied at Westminster Film School.

Related Articles

Back to top button