Local sportSport

Jake White selects new backline for battle against Cardiff

Only two three members of the Bulls' backline who lost to Connacht in Ireland last week are back in the starting line-up against Cardiff in Wales this week, while one of them will also move to another position.

The Bulls have made a handful of changes to their side that will face Welsh side, Cardiff Rugby, in Round 3 of the United Rugby Championship on Saturday.

Bulls director of rugby, Jake White, has opted to make full use of the team’s rotation system ahead of the match that will be played at Cardiff Arms Park.

“We are making some changes to our match-day squad this week to ensure that we utilise our squad depth while giving fair opportunity to the players to get a feel of this competitive tournament,” said White at the announcement of the team.

The Bulls team will see five changes to the backline personnel, while four new faces will be seen from the forwards pack that was on duty last weekend against Connacht Rugby.

Fullback David Kriel, wingers Madosh Tambwe and Kurt-Lee Arendse make returns to the starting XV, while scrumhalf Ambrose Papier makes a welcomed return in the run-on team after having spent weeks recuperating from an injury ahead of the start of the URC. Cornal Hendricks will shift from wing to the familiar outside centre position, where he will partner with Harold Vorster.

A new-look front row will see hooker Bismarck du Plessis linking up with props Simphiwe Matanzima and Jacques van Rooyen. Janko Swanepoel, at lock, and Jacques du Plessis, at blindside flanker, will both earn starting berths.

“Cardiff has shown good form so far this season in their win over Connacht at home, and, despite their narrow defeat, last week in the Welsh derby against Ospreys. We expect them to come out guns blazing, and we have no doubt that they will be a tough side to face,” added White.

The match will kick-off at 20:35 SA time, and it will be televised on SuperSport.

The Bulls team to face Cardiff Rugby is:

The Bulls team is: David Kriel (Betway Centurion), Madosh Tambwe (Pretoria), Cornal Hendricks (Northam), Harold Vorster (Northam), Kurt-Lee Arendse (Betway Centurion), Johan Goosen (ABE Midas Naka Bulle), Embrose Papier (FNB Tuks); Simphiwe Matanzima (ABE Midas Naka Bulle), Bismarck du Plessis (Betway Centurion), Jacques van Rooyen (Tuine), Janko Steenkamp (Pretoria), Ruan Nortje (ABE Midas Naka Bulle), Marcell Coetzee (Captain, ABE Midas Naka Bulle), Jacques du Plessis (Tuks), Elrigh Louw (Tuks). Replacements: Jan-Hendrik Wessels (U20), Lizo Gqoboka (ABE Midas Naka Bulle), Robert Hunt (Harlequins), Walt Steenkamp (Betway Centurion), Arno Botha (ABE Midas Naka Bulle), Keagan Johannes (FNB Tuks), Chris Smith (Harlequins), Lionel Mapoe (Pretoria)


Do you have more information about the story?

Please send us an email to editorial@rekord.co.za or phone us on 083 625 4114.

For free breaking and community news, visit Rekord’s websites: Rekord East

For more news and interesting articles, like Rekord on Facebook, follow us on Twitter or Instagram

Back to top button