Local newsNewsSport

South Africa’s Dijana crowned Comrades Marathon champ

This was Tete Dijana’s second Comrades Marathon.

SOUTH Africa’s Tete Dijana won the Comrades Marathon on Sunday, crossing the finish line at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in a time of 05:30:38.

Dijana, a security guard who hails from Mahikeng, was running only his second Comrades Marathon.

Incredibly, in 2019, the 34-year-old finished in 50th place.

2019 champion and Dijana’s teammate from the Nedbank Running Club, Edward Mothibi, finished second.

The 95th Comrades Marathon saw thousands of athletes take off from Pietermaritzburg to Durban on Sunday morning.

Race officials measured and confirmed the official distance of this year’s Comrades Marathon down run at 89.885km.

In the women’s race, Russia’s Alexandra Morozova claimed first place in a time of 06:17:48.

Alexandra Morozova wins the 2022 Comrades Marathon in the women’s division. Photo: Thuli Dlamini

Poland’s Dominkia Stelmach claimed second position, and the first South African woman to cross the finish line was Adele Broodryk, who finished third.

The marathon also sees runners from 70 nations around the world competing in the race.

The five top international contingents are from the United Kingdom, Zimbabwe, India, Eswatini and Brazil.

You can track your loved ones via the Comrades Marathon website.


For more from Northglen News follow us on Facebook or Twitter. You can also follow us on Instagram
You can also sign up for news alerts on Telegram. Send us a Telegram message (not an SMS) with your name and surname (ONLY) to 060 532 5532.


Related Articles

Back to top button