Jacques van der Westhuyzen

By Jacques van der Westhuyzen

Head of Sport

URC derby day: All the Bulls, Lions, Sharks and Stormers team news

The Lions and Sharks meet in Joburg while the Bulls and Stormers clash in Pretoria on Saturday.

It’s a big weekend for South African rugby as the Lions take on the Sharks (3pm) and the Bulls entertain the Stormers (5.05pm) in United Rugby Championship derby matches in Joburg and Pretoria respectively this weekend.

See all the team news here.


Jordan Hendrikse, who announced this week he would be joining the Sharks next year, will start at flyhalf against the Durban team, with Sanele Nohamba shifting to No 9. JC Pretorius also comes in at loose forward, while PJ Botha will play at hooker.

Emmanual Tshituka, who’ll be up against big brother Vincent before he, too, makes a move to the Sharks, will earn a 50th Lions cap this weekend.

Lions: Quan Horn, Richard Kriel, Henco van Wyk, Marius Louw (capt), Edwill van der Merwe, Jordan Hendrikse, Sanele Nohamba, Francke Horn, Ruan Venter, JC Pretorius, Darrien Landsberg, Etienne Oosthuizen, Asenathi Ntlabakanye, PJ Botha, JP Smith. Bench: Jaco Visagie, Corne Fourie, Conraad van Vuuren, Reinhard Nothnagel, Emmanuel Tshituka, Hanru Sirgel, Morne van den Berg, Erich Cronje


Bongi Mbonambi will captain the side in the absence of Lukhanyo Am, with young Ethan Hooker taking Am’s place at outside centre. Exciting loose forward George Cronje is back in the side, while at the back, Grant Williams and Siya Masuku partner at halfback and Eduan Keyter is also named among an exciting back three that features Aphiwe Dyanti and Aphelele Fassi.

Bok World Cup winning prop Vincent Koch is still not available. He hasn’t played any rugby since helping the Boks win the world title in France towards the end of last year.

Sharks: Aphelele Fassi, Eduan Keyter, Ethan Hooker, Francois Venter, Aphiwe Dyantyi, Siya Masuku, Grant Williams, George Cronje, Vincent Tshituka, James Venter, Gerbrandt Grobler, Corne Rahl, Coenie Oosthuizen, Bongi Mbonambi (capt), Ntuthuko Mchunu. Bench: Fez Mbatha, Dian Bleuler, Khwezi Mona, Jeandre Labuschagne, Tino Mavesere, Phepsi Buthulezi, Tiaan Fourie, Curwin Bosch


Bulls boss Jake White has picked 12 Springboks in his matchday-23 for the match against the Stormers. Johan Grobbelaar will start at hooker with Akker van der Merwe on the bench meaning Jan-Hendrik Wessels misses out. Elrigh Louw is also out of the team, with White opting for Marcell Coetzee at No 8, Reinhardt Ludwig at blindside and Marco van Staden at openside.

Canan Moodie and Kurt-Lee Arendse will play on the wings, while White has opted for just two backs on the bench – Zak Burger and Willie le Roux.

Bulls: Devon Williams, Kurt-Lee Arendse, Stedman Gans, David Kriel, Canan Moodie, Johan Goosen, Embrose Papier, Marcell Coetzee (capt), Reinhardt Ludwig, Marco van Staden, Ruan Nortje (capt), Ruan Vermaak, Wilco Louw, Johan Grobbelaar, Gerhard Steenekamp. Bench: Akker van der Merwe, Simphiwe Matanzima, Francois Klopper, JF Van Heerden, Nizaam Carr, Zak Burger, Willie le Roux, Mpilo Gumede


Deon Fourie returns to the Stormers team this week, and as captain, and is joined by fellow Springboks Manie Libbok and Damian Willemse, following resting periods.

Dan du Plessis is also back in the mix after an injury, while Sti Sithole gets a start in the No 1 jersey. There are only two backs replacements in Paul de Wet and the dynamic Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu.

Stormers: Warrick Gelant, Ben Loader, Dan du Plessis, Damian Willemse, Leolin Zas, Manie Libbok, Herschel Jantjies, Hacjivah Dayimani, Evan Roos, Deon Fourie (capt), Ruben van Heerden, Adre Smith, Neethling Fouche, Joseph Dweba, Sti Sithole. Bench: Andre-Hugo Venter, Brok Harris, Sazi Sandi, Salmaan Moerat, Ben-Jason Dixon, Marcel Theunissen, Paul de Wet, Sacha Feinberg-Mngomezulu


Access premium news and stories

Access to the top content, vouchers and other member only benefits