Tshepiso Makhele
2 minute read
11 Oct 2016
10:00 am

Maftown Heights announces its lineup

Tshepiso Makhele

Tickets will be available at Computicket and Shoprite stores as of midday on Thursday, October 13.

It’s that time of year again. Africa’s premium hip-hop festival, Maftown Heights, has just released the first batch of its highly anticipated lineup for their seventh annual festival, spiced up by KFC, which is set to take place on Friday, November 25, at Mary Fitzgerald Square in Newtown, Johannesburg. from 3pm until 2am.

The second batch of names will be released at the beginning of November.

With just more than 10 000 attendees at last year’s Maftown Heights installment, patrons are encouraged to purchase Early Bird tickets as early as possible to avoid disappointment, as these tickets are limited.

They will be available at Computicket and Shoprite stores as of midday on Thursday, October 13.

Year on year Maftown Heights, takes the festival to new heights, with its state-of-the-art stage production and overall event experience.

Numerous stakeholders from media to SA’s key influencers have dubbed Maftown Heights as a must-attend festival on the SA events calendar.

Early this year a Maftown Heights documentary was aired on Channel O, which covered the Maftown Heights story from its humble beginnings in 2010, with an audience of 900 people to being Africa’s second largest hip-hop festival.

The magnitude of what Maftown Heights is today is the foundation of what is increasingly becoming a destination festival for people across the continent and diaspora wanting authentic African hip hop live performances presented on a world-class platform.

So far the lineup includes:  

  • Motswako Crew
  • Khuli Chana
  • Fifi Cooper
  • Mo Molemi
  • HHP
  • Towedee Mac
  • JR
  • Tuks

Friends of Motswako include:

  • AKA
  • Kwesta
  • Nasty C
  • Riky Rick
  • KO
  • A-Reece
  • Emtee
  • Da L.E.S
  • Kid X
  • Black Les
  • Nadia Nakai
  • Aewon Wolf
  • Gemini Major
  • Okmalumkoolkat
  • Stilo Magolide

New kids on the block

  • DJ Speedsta’s “Mayo” live performance
  • Super Fresh presenting “The new wave of Motswako”

DJ lineup comprises:

  • Speedsta
  • DJ Zan D
  • Major League DJz
  • DJ Vigilante
  • DJ Coco
  • DJ Slique
  • DJ Beatmochini