Avatar photo

By Citizen Reporter


What you need to know about Rand Water’s 54-hour water shutdown

Residents are urged to use water sparingly, and are reminded that a water shutdown does not necessarily mean no water access.

Rand Water’s scheduled shutdown of water pipes supplying parts of Gauteng is set to begin from Monday until Wednesday.

The utility announced last week its planned shut down of its B11 and B19 pipelines from 15 to 17 November that is expected to last for 54 hours.

ALSO READ: Rand Water announces 54-hour water outage in Soweto, Randburg areas

Rand Water said the water supply reduction will result in “poor to no water supply during peak water demand periods”, in both low and high lying areas, and high demand areas. 

Water tankers both stationary and roaming will be in and around the city over the next few days.

The shutdown is the final leg of Rand Water’s B19 Pipeline Augmentation Project, which will increase water volumes, and result in more sustainable water supply to consumers. 

Johannesburg south, north and west will see their water supply be reduced by 25% over the next 54 hours as Rand Water works on their raw water pipe which supplies the Vereeniging water purification plant, the utility explained in their latest statement. 

This will impact water supply from the Eikenhof pump station. 

Water supply from the Zwartkoppies system to the central CBD will be reduced by 50%. 

Residents were urged to use water sparingly during the maintenance period.

Complete list of areas affected 

  • Roodepoort/Randburg area:

Bergbron, Claremont, Delarey, Whiteridge, Roodekrans (all ext), Wilropark (all ext), Helderkruin (all ext), Constantia Kloof (all ext), Allens Nek (all ext), Weltevreden (all ext), Florida Hills, Florida North, Discovery (all ext), Selwyn, Florida Township, Horison, Horison View, Roodepoort North, Florida Park (all ext), Constantia Park, Honeydew (all ext), Zandspruit, Laserpark, Randparkridge, Cosmo City, Lanseria, Thabo Mbeki Informal settlement, Olivedale, Sundowner, Northwold, Boskruin, Bromhof, Kya Sands, Bloubosrand, Eagle Canyon, Honeydew View, Poortview, Ruimsig, Wilgeheuwel, Princess, Grobler Park (all ext), Lindhaven, Little Falls, Harveston, Honeydew (all ext), parts of Northriding.

  • Langlaagte/Southdale area:

Mondeor, Southgate, Meredale, Alan Manor, Eagles Nest, Southfork, Kibler Heights, Eikenhof, Lougherin A.H, Coronationville,Westbury, Claremont, Triomf, Westdene, Newlands, Greymont, Albertskroon, Albertsville, Langlaagte, Industria, Bosmont, Riverlea, Longdale, Vrededorp, Fordsburg, Brixton, Mayfair, Cottesloe, Janhofmeyer, Rossmore, Hursthill, Montclare, Melville, Emmerentia, Auckland Park, Greenside, Westcliff, Parkview, Fairlands, Berario, Northcliff (all ext), Southdale, Booysens Reserve, Ormonde, Mondeor, Nasrec Lakeview Estate, Phirton, Selby, Theta, Framton, West Turffontein, Evans Park, Ridgeway, Winchester Hills, Southdale, Suideroord, Oakdene, Rossettenville, Kenilworth, The Hill, Towerby, Gillview, Linmeyer, Forest Hill, Townsiew, Southdale, Robertsham, Haddon, Bellavista Estate, Turf Club, Glenanda, Turffontein, Klipriviersberg, Southgate, Meredale, Eikenhof, Comptonville, Lenaron A.H., Devland, Armadale, Alan Manor, Naturena, Rivasdale, Baragwanath, Elias Motsoaledi, Glenvista, Aspen Lakes, Mulbarton, Liefde en Vrede, Bassonia, Glenanda, Gleneagles, Alveda, Southfork, Mayfield Park, Patlynn, Kibler Park, Aspen Hills, Ris Park A.H.

  • Soweto:

Pimville, Power Park, Diepkloof, Orlando East, Orlando West, Dobsonville, Naturena, Klipspruit, Meadowlands, Comptonville, Meredale, Moroka, Jabavu, Molapo, Jabulani, Tladi, Moletsane, Mofolo South, Mapetla, Zola, Zondi, Naledi and all extensions, Emdeni, Mofolo north, Mofolo central, parts of Dube, Chiawelo and extensions, Protea North, Protea South, Dhlamini and extensions, Eldoradopark and all extensions, Klipspruit west and Klipspruit.

  • Johannesburg CBD:

Yeoville, Berea, Parktown, Jeppestown, Malvern, Troyeville, Cyrildene, Bruma, Judiths Paarl, Glenhazel, Highlands North, Norwood, De Westhof, Observatory, Oospoort, Bezuidenhout Valley, Bertrams, and Lorentzville.

  • Sandton areas:

Victoria, Linksfield, Glenhazel, Rouxville, Highlands North, Sandringham, Percelia Estate, Fairmont, Talboton, Fairmount Ridge, Dunhill, Hawkins Estate, Raumarais, Fellside, Fairwood, Bramley, The Gardens, Abbotsford, Gresswold, Raedene Estate, Melrose North, Farevale, Orchards, Syndenham, Cheltondale, Maryvale, Glenkay, Bagleyston, Waverley, Houghton Estate, Kew, Savoy Estate, Saxonwold, Dunkeld West, Hyde Park, Melrose, Parkview, Illobo, Greenside, Melrose North, Hyde Park A Settlement, Birdhaven, Riviera, Oaklands, Killarney, Craighall, Forest Town, Birnam, Westcliff, Parktown, Melrose Estate, and Fairway. 

  • Lenasia areas: 

Lenasia CBD, Lenasia Extensions, Thembelihle informal settlement, Lawley Station, Zakariyya Park, Vlakfontein, Lehae, Hospital Hills, and Lenasia South.

Additional reporting by Nica Richards

READ NOW: Why Rand Water’s maintenance is a necessary evil

Read more on these topics

Rand Water