Rotax karting season ends on a Zwartkops high

Masters men Eugene Britz and Nicholas Verheul racing in the open class as they prepare to represent SA in the Rotax Max Grand Finals in Abu Dhabi.

The 2021 South African Rotax Max Challenge came to an end with a cracking 2021 Gauteng regional championship finale at the Zwartkops International Kart Raceway on Saturday. Impressive fields across the board delivered some title cliffhangers and Brandon Smith, Carlo Gil, Kian Grottis, Jayden Goosen, Wian Boshoff, Kegan Martin and Matthew Shuttleworth were crowned champions.

Brandon and Jamie Smith, and first-time winner Divan Braak, shared the premier DD2 wins. Masters men Eugene Britz and Nicholas Verheul racing in the open class as they prepare to represent SA in the Rotax Max Grand Finals in Abu Dhabi, followed from Wayland Wyman. That saw Brandon to the ’22 Gauteng title, while Wyman’s better Saturday form saw Nick win the title second from Nicolas Spanoyannis by just a point.

Kian Grottis.

It was even closer in over-31 DD2 Masters. Tinahe Ncube won two races to Philippe Chapat’s one, with Carlo Gil third. Which meant that Gil and Chapat ended tied on points as Gil took the title by virtue of his four wins to Chapat’s two, with Ncube a close third! Kian Grottis took his regular triple Senior Max win over Olerato Sekudu, KZN visitor Juandré Nel and Ethan Bostander.

With their worst three scores dropped, Grottis scored a 100% win rate to take the title from Sekudu and Goodman. KC Ensor-Smith trotted to a triple Junior Max win and Jayden Goosen and Moosa Kajee tied for second ahead of Karabo Malemela and Jonno Wilson.

Consistent Jayden took the title from Moosa and Nicolaos Vostanis. Caleb Odendaal beat Georgia Lenaerts to all three Mini Max wins with Sebastian and Spice Mailula next home. The absent Wian Boshoff dominated the title race, winning every race he started throughout the season. Caleb ended second from Kent Swartz.

Jayden Goosen.

Rafael Da Silva beat Kegan Martin two Micro Max races to one with Mattao Mason, Durelle Goodman, Matthew Shuttleworth and Christian Verheul, as Kegan took the title from Rafael and Mattao.

Brodi Dowling took the baby Bambino day two heats to one over Matthew, Diego Antunes, Santi Frade, Kayde Cornofskyand and Noah Cronje. That was not enough to stop Matthew from taking an easy title, but Brodi edged Santi to second by just three points.

That wraps up an exceptional 2021 South African Rotax Max Challenge season. Unfortunately, based on the actual Covid-19 measures currently in place, competitors and their crews from South Africa will not get permission from the Kingdom of Bahrain to enter the country.

This is the first Rotax Grand Final South Africa will miss since the first event held in Puerto Rico in 2000 and the whole team and their supporters are devastated. Source: MotorsportMedia / Photos: Motorsport Fanatix

Related Articles

Back to top button