Local newsNews

#Elections2024: Know your voting stations

Individuals are required to vote at designated polling stations where they are registered in the upcoming elections.

ANTICIPATION for the upcoming elections is building, with voters across the region preparing to cast their ballots. The Independent Electoral Commission of South Africa (IEC) has finalised the list of voting stations for each ward, ensuring a smooth and efficient electoral process.

Also read: #Elections2024: A vote for a brighter future

Mawethu Mosery, the electoral manager of the IEC, emphasised the importance of voting at designated polling stations where individuals are registered. “The recent legal amendment under Section 24A requires voters to provide prior notice if they intend to vote at a different location,” said Mosery.

To assist voters in verifying their designated polling stations, the IEC has introduced several convenient channels. Voters can send their ID numbers to 32810 via SMS, call the toll-free line at 080 011 8000, or send a message to the IEC’s WhatsApp number at 060 088 0000.

Ward 64 Voting Stations:

  • Montclair Recreational Hall
  • Woodlands Senior Primary School
  • Montclair Senior Primary School
  • Phambili High School
  • Yellowwood Park Civic Centre
  • Yellowwood Park Primary School
  • Willow Park Primary School
  • St Raphael’s Special School

Ward 66 Voting Stations:

  • Durban Academy High School
  • Bushlands Primary School
  • St Gerards Daycare
  • Glendale Junior Primary School
  • Grosvenor Girls High School
  • Transhaven Seaside Fund
  • Dirkie Uys Primary School

Ward 68 Voting Stations:

  • Austerville Community Hall
  • Wentworth Primary School
  • Fairvale Secondary School
  • Gardenia Primary School
  • Wentworth Secondary School
  • Junagarth Road Primary School
  • ML Sultan St Mary’s Primary School
  • Settlers Primary School
  • Nizam Road Primary School

Mosery highlighted the critical role of the community in participating in the democratic process by voting. He reiterated the IEC’s commitment to ensuring that every registered voter can easily access their polling station and cast their vote.

For more Southlands Sun news, follow us on Facebook or Twitter. You can also follow us on Instagram.

Related Articles

Back to top button