Sport / Rugby

Sports Reporter
2 minute read
20 Oct 2021
3:10 pm

Big former SA player contingent in Scotland squad to face Boks

Sports Reporter

Scotland and the Springboks will face off in a Murrayfield showdown next month.

Former Bulls prop, Pierre Schoeman, now of Edinburgh, is in the Scotland squad to face the Springboks next month. Picture: Ian MacNicol/Getty Images

Several players who featured in South African domestic rugby have been included in Scotland head coach Gregor Townsend’s squad for the Autumn Nations Series Tests against Tonga, Australia, South Africa and Japan starting later this month.

Townsend named 42 players for the four Tests, including Scotland’s full complement of British and Irish Lions involved in the South Africa tour – captain Stuart Hogg, wing Duhan van der Merwe and halfbacks Finn Russell and Ali Price.

Townsend has also selected 12 uncapped players including Ewan Ashman, Josh Bayliss, Dylan Richardson and Pierre Schoeman.

Loose forward Richardson still plays for the Sharks in South Africa, while prop Schoeman featured for the Bulls in Super Rugby until three years ago.

ALSO READ: Play well in URC and Bok door will open, says coach Nienaber

The other former South Africans in the group, besides wing Van der Merwe, who featured for Tuks in Varsity Cup rugby, are centre Kyle Steyn, who formerly played for Griquas, prop Ollie Kebble of the Stormers, and centre Huw Jones, also of the Stormers.

Scotland host Tonga at Murrayfield on October 30 before matches against Australia, world champions South Africa and Japan.

Scotland squad

Backs (19)

Mark Bennett (Edinburgh), Darcy Graham (Edinburgh), Jamie Dobie (Glasgow), Chris Harris (Gloucester), Adam Hastings (Gloucester), Stuart Hogg (capt, Exeter), George Horne (Glasgow), Damien Hoyland (Edinburgh), Sam Johnson (Glasgow), Huw Jones (Harlequins), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh), Duhan van de Merwe (Worcester), Rufus McLean (Glasgow), Ali Price (Glasgow), Finn Russell (Racing 92), Matt Scott (Leicester), Kyle Steyn (Glasgow), Ross Thompson (Glasgow), Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow)

Forwards (23)

Ewan Ashman (Sale), Josh Bayliss (Bath), Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow), Fraser Brown (Glasgow), Luke Crosbie (Edinburgh), Rory Darge (Glasgow), Matt Fagerson (Glasgow), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh), Nick Haining (Edinburgh), Rob Harley (Glasgow), Jamie Hodgson (Edinburgh), Oli Kebble (Glasgow), Murray McCallum (Glasgow), Stuart McInally (Edinburgh), Dylan Richardson (Sharks), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh), Sam Skinner (Exeter), Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh), Rory Sutherland (Worcester), Marshall Sykes (Edinburgh), George Turner (Glasgow), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh)