Sport / Rugby

Ross Roche
Senior sports writer
2 minute read
18 Nov 2021
4:43 pm

England back rookie front row against experienced Boks

Ross Roche

They will have the unenviable task of fronting up against the two Springbok front rows who decimated both Wales and Scotland.

Jamie Blamire, the rookie front row forward, will be up against the Springboks in the Test at Twickenham this Saturday. Picture: Visionhaus/Getty Images

England have named a rookie front row to take on the mighty Springbok pack in their final end-of-year tour match at Twickenham on Saturday.

Bevan Rodd, who made his international debut against Australia last week, has kept his place at prop, while Jamie Blamire starts at hooker in the place of the injured Jamie George.

Kyle Sinckler, with 47 caps, is the most experienced man in the front three, while Blamire has played just four games.

ALSO READ: Bok loose forwards brace for England battle

They will have the unenviable task of fronting up against the two Springbok front rows, who have decimated both Wales and Scotland so far on their UK tour.

Experienced prop Joe Marler has, however, been named on the bench, despite not being able to train until Friday after isolating with Covid-19, while uncapped hooker Nic Dolly could also get his first cap off the bench.

The injury to captain Owen Farrell sees Manu Tuilagi return to the midfield after featuring on the right wing last week, with Joe Marchant coming in to take his spot, while flanker Courtney Lawes takes over the captaincy reigns.

ALSO READ: Who, where, when – What you need to know about Rassie’s appeal

England head into the match off a thumping win against Tonga and a powerful victory over Australia and will have their eyes firmly set on getting revenge against the team they lost to in the 2019 World Cup final.

However, they are coming up against a Bok side smarting from the sanction handed down against SA director of rugby Rassie Erasmus by World Rugby earlier in the week and could find themselves in the firing line on that front.


Freddie Steward, Joe Marchant, Henry Slade, Manu Tuilagi, Jonny May, Marcus Smith, Ben Youngs, Tom Curry, Sam Underhill, Courtney Lawes (c), Jonny Hill, Maro Itoje, Kyle Sinckler, Jamie Blamire, Bevan Rodd

Bench: Nic Dolly, Joe Marler, Will Stuart, Charlie Ewels, Sam Simmonds, Alex Dombrandt, Raffi Quirke, Max Malins