Avatar photo

By Citizen Reporter


Naledi awards form new partnerships

The nominations for the 2013 Naledi Theatre Awards were announced at the old Gramadoelas restaurant, hosted by the Market Theatre yesterday.

During the announcement, Naledi Executive Director, Dawn Lindberg revealed three exciting new developments for the awards. A new award, Best Emerging Voice, has been created in partnership with the Market Theatre and will be administered by the Market Theatre under the guidance of Artistic Director James Ncgobo.

“The Best Emerging Voice award is a continuum of the Market Theatre Foundation’s commitment to recognise young talent and their voices and put them in a space where there will be further mentoring and where they will gain access to people who understand how crucial it is to pass the baton to the next generation of storytellers,” Ngcobo said.

The awards have also formed a new partnership with Assitej SA, who will administer the Best Production For Children category, now renamed Best Production For Young Audiences.

“Assitej SA has selected four judges who are experts in theatre for young people,” says Lindberg.

“These experts will work together with our special children’s panel of judges to expand this category to embrace the outstanding work being done by many new and exciting producers.”

The third development is an exciting partnership that has been forged with the Gauteng Department of Arts and Culture, who will administer and expand on another very important aspect of the theatre industry namely Community Theatre through their initiative, the Ishashalaza Awards.

Lindberg also acknowledged the second year of major funding from Auto & General Insurance, while Carl Louw, Executive Head of Marketing for Auto & General Insurance said, “We are very happy to expand our Corporate Social Investment footprint into the Arts sector. Not only do we sponsor the Naledi Theatre Awards but we have also obtained naming rights for the Auto & General Theatre on the Square”.

The Naledi Theatre Awards is grateful to the National Lottery Distribution fund for coming on board with much needed funding in 2014.The panel of judges for the 2013 Awards are: Renos Spanoudos, Welcome Msomi, Peter Feldman, Carolyn Steyn, Dorianne Alexander, Laking Morgan, Ferosa Marais, Dr Lance Maron, Mandla Moutau, Lali Dangazele, Rudi Sadler and Helen Heldenmuth.

Entertainment will feature artists from shows under review including Judith Sephuma, Cito, Timothy Moloi, Zandile Mzanzi, Burnise Sylvius, Jonathan Rodrigues, Michael de Pinna, Bianca la Grange and Angela Killian.

Access premium news and stories

Access to the top content, vouchers and other member only benefits