Middelburg Observer honoured by National Heritage Association
Honoured for its conservation contribution.
The Middelburg Observer played a major role in the community since 1903 and has been as much a part of the town’s history as the Klein Olifants River.
Its first Editor and founder, Oscar Henry Frewin, is considered as the Father of the Community Press.
Over the years, the newspaper has fought at the forefront to preserve its heritage, including several buildings.
Unfortunately, bureaucracy has often been the winner or developers have been left cold by the historical value of buildings.
One of those buildings was the beautiful Frewin building in what was then Kerk Street.
The building was demolished despite pleas from Dr Anton Rupert to preserve it.
A giant photo of the beautiful old building is on display in the Museum for the Printing and Community Press at OH Frewin Printers and Publishers in Meyer Street.
The gold certificate was received by consulting editor Tobie van den Bergh last night during a gala event at the Middelburg Country Club.
