Michael Owen-Smith
1 minute read
25 Aug 2015
11:12 am

Philander headlines Proteas player boost for SWD

Michael Owen-Smith

South Western Districts will field one of their strongest teams ever in the inaugural Africa T20 Cup competition next month with the inclusion in their squad of Proteas strike bowler, Vernon Philander, as well as three other members of the Cape Cobras franchise – Andrew Puttick, Sybrand Engelbrecht and Mthokozisi Shezi.

FILE PICTURE: Vernon Philander during the Ram Slam T20 Challenge match between Chevrolet Knights and Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras from Chevrolet Park. Photo by Johan Pretorius / Gallo Images

Philander has represented South Africa in 31 Tests, 30 ODIs and 7 T20 International matches while Puttick and Shezi have also represented South Africa at limited overs level.

“This is a tremendous boost both for our squad and for our aspirations,” commented SWD coach, Deon Smith. “It is not just the ability and experience they will bring to the squad but also the knowledge and encouragement they will share with our younger players.”

SWD are in Pool D along with hosts Free State, Gauteng and Kenya with matches to be centralised at the Mangaung Oval in Bloemfontein from September 25 to 27.

“Considering the balance and potential of the team I am very confident that this SWD team has the potential to go all the way and bring a trophy to the Southern Cape,” added Smith.

SWD CEO, Albertus Kennedy, said that the tournament would be a landmark occasion for cricket in the area as it would be the first time that SWD would be seen live on television.

SWD is currently on a high, having achieved high marks in Cricket South Africa’s scorecard incentive programme and having also signed a Media Partnership with Eden FM, the biggest commercial radio station in the area. “This partnership will be beneficial to both parties and we are looking forward to promoting both brands with the aim to grow our businesses,” commented Mr. Kennedy.

SWD Squad: Waldo Lategan (captain), Andrew Puttick, Luthando Mnyanda, Hanno Kotze, Brendon Louw, Sybrand Engelbrecht, Vernon Philander, Marcello Piedt, Mthokozisi Shezi, Lonwabo Rodolo, Siya Simetu, Pieter Stuurman, Chris Marrow.

Support Staff: Deon Smith (head coach), Andre du Plessis (technical adviser), Regan Booysen (team official)