Avatar photo

Compiled by Earl Coetzee

Digital Editor

ANC, EFF alliance remove Mogale City mayor in no confidence vote

Tyrone Gray was removed as Mogale City mayor, by an alliance of ANC and EFF councillors.

Mogale City’s DA mayor Tyrone Gray has been removed through a motion of no confidence, just hours after a court ordered the reinstatement of 40 ANC and EFF councillors, who had been fired by the council’s speaker.

The same speaker, Jacqueline Pannall and council whip Lesego Makgatho were also voted out.

The ANC/EFF alliance was supported by the ATM, who helped it get 43 of the 77 votes to remove the mayor.

Thirty-four councillors from the ACDP, IFP, FF+ and PAC had voted against the motion to remove Gray.

ALSO READ: WATCH: Mogale City DA’s ‘delay tactics’ the ‘last kick of a dying horse’?

The ANC and EFF alliance is at loggerheads with the DA, after Pannall fired more than half of the council’s members for skipping meetings.

The ANC and the red berets skipped follow-up special council meetings, with their absence leaving the adjustment budget and other matters hanging, because there was no quorum to pass it through.

Pannal postponed last week’s meeting as the saga over the fired councillors raged on, saying she would seek legal advice on the matter.

Gray on the chopping block

The axe was set to fall on Gray, Pannall, and council whip Lesego Lekoto last week, as the ANC and EFF continue to dismantle DA coalitions at hung councils.

At the West Rand District Municipality, the ANC and EFF alliance partnership ousted West Rand City ex-mayor Hullet Hild, a DA councillor.

Thabiso Bovungana of the African Independent Congress (AIC) was elected to replace him during a special sitting in Randfontein.

Hild was voted out along with the whip of council, Alme Swart. The EFF’s Munyai was elected speaker a few days ago, replacing DA’s Gerhad Kruger.

The DA took over Mogale City after receiving EFF votes after the 2021 polls.

Additional reporting by Getrude Makhafola

READ MORE: DA-led Mogale City next on ANC and EFF’s takeover list