Avatar photo

By Faizel Patel

Senior Digital Journalist

Lesufi’s Cabinet: These are your new MECs for Gauteng

The DA said it will not form part of Lesufi's Cabinet after failing to reach an agreement with the ANC. 

Re-elected Gauteng premier Panyaza Lesufi has finally announced his new members of the Executive Council (MECs) after uncertainty and two abrupt postponements.

Lesufi made the much-anticipated announcement at the Gauteng Partnership Fund in Sandton on Wednesday night.


Lesufi’s new Cabinet excludes members of the Democratic Alliance (DA) after the party announced it would not form part of the provincial government of unity (PGU) after failing to reach an agreement with the African National Congress (ANC).


Lesufi said the Inkatha Freedom Party (IFP), Patriotic Alliance (PA) and Rise Mzansi will form part of the PGU. He thanked all the political parties that have agreed to be part of the PGU.

“Our task from today is to build a better Gauteng; our task from now is to make Gauteng attractive for all families, all forms of investments, workers, the youth and students, sporting and cultural events, and safe for our women and children.

“Our mandate is simple: crime, corruption, and lawlessness must be crushed mercilessly. Municipalities must play their part so that we can support them,” Lesufi said.

ALSO READ: ‘The ANC hasn’t really understood it lost power’ − Zille

Lesufi appointed the following MEC’s to his Cabinet


  • MEC for Agriculture and Rural Development: Vuyiswa Ramokgopa (Rise Mzansi)
  • MEC for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs: Jacob Mamabolo (ANC)
  • MEC for Education, Sports, Arts, Culture and Recreation: Matome Chiloane (ANC)
  • MEC for eGovernment: Bonginkosi Dlamini (IFP)
  • MEC for Environment: Sheila Mary Peters (PA)
  • MEC for Treasury and Economic Development: Lebogang Maile (ANC)
  • MEC for Health: Nomantu Nkomo-Ralehoko (ANC)
  • MEC for Human Settlements: Tasneem Motara (ANC)
  • MEC for Roads and Transport: Kedibone Diale-Tlabela (ANC)
  • MEC for Social Development: Faith Mazibuko (ANC)

Lesufi said the Community Safety portfolio has been moved to the Office of the Premier.

Gauteng High Court Judge Lebogang Modiba administered the oath of office to the newly appointed MECs.

Serving Gauteng

Lesufi told the new MECs their tasks “start now.”

“I was holding the fort alone, and I succeeded. So, now that you are coming to give a helping hand, I want to thank you. Let’s go and do the work; let’s go and make the people of Gauteng proud and deal with the responsibilities that have been given to us.”


The premier’s appointment of his new cabinet has been marred by squabbles for positions between the ANC and DA, which saw Lesufi postpone the announcement twice in the last two weeks.

The parties have accused each other of negotiating in bad faith, with the DA saying it will not be part of the provincial government of unity (PGU) in Gauteng.

Shadow Cabinet

The DA said it refuses to be “co-opted” into the PGU as it believes it should be part of a power-sharing partnership and that the party will occupy the opposition benches.

The DA said it will announce the new shadow cabinet in a couple of days, which will “relentlessly keep the newly formed executive and all departments accountable.”

ALSO READ: Ramaphosa’s GNU cabinet: These are your new ministers and deputies

For more news your way

Download our app and read this and other great stories on the move. Available for Android and iOS.

For more news your way

Download our app and read this and other great stories on the move. Available for Android and iOS.