Citizen Reporter
3 minute read
1 Sep 2021
11:16 am

These are the areas affected by Joburg’s water restrictions today

Citizen Reporter

Joburg Water’s bulk water supplier, Rand Water, has been forced to continue with 20% water restrictions. 

Picture for illustration: iStock

Many parts of the City of Johannesburg continue to be affected by water restrictions imposed by Johannesburg Water. 

Johannesburg Water’s bulk water supplier, Rand Water, has been forced to continue with 20% water restrictions. 

Johannesburg Water spokesperson Eleanor Mavimbela said last weekend this was due to the system experiencing severe pressure, and that water demand consistently exceeded supply. 

Residents were also reminded that the city was still under level-one water restrictions, and with summer fast approaching, everyone is urged to save water where they can, to ease pressure on the system. 

Here are the reservoirs that are currently affected

  • Rabie Ridge Reservoir & tower
  • President Park Reservoir 1&2 and tower
  • Grand Central Reservoir & tower
  • Diepsloot Reservoir
  • Linbro Park Reservoir &, Marlboro Reservoir
  • Illovo Reservoir & Tower
  • Morningside Reservoir
  • Bryanston Reservoir & Tower
  • Alexander Park Reservoir
  • Randjieslaagte and Dunkeld Reservoirs
  • Linksfield Reservoir
  • Meadowlands Reservoir
  • Braamfisherville Reservoir 1&2
  • Protea Glen Reservoir
  • Diepkloof Reservoir
  • Constantia Kloof Tower, Hulderkruin Reservoir
  • Doornkop North Reservoir
  • Chiawelo Reservoir
  • Zondi Reservoir
  • Jabulani Reservoir and Tower
  • Power Park Reservoir
  • Witpoortjie Res & tower
  • Boschkop Reservoir 1&2, Boschkop Tow, Randpark Ridge Reservoir, Olivedale Reservoir
  • Lenasia Cosmo Reservoir, Lenasia Hospital hill, Lenasia high level
  • Cosmo City Reservoir
  • Hursthill 1&2, Crosby Reservoir, Brixton Reservoir & tower
  • Northclif Reservoir & tower
  • Corriemoore Reservoir
  • Fairlands Reservoir
  • Honeydew Reservoir and tower
  • Linden 1&2, Linden Tower, Blairgowrie Reservoir, Kensington Reservoir & tower.
  • Waterval Reservoir & tower, Querellina tower

The following areas continue to be affected by restrictions:

  • Meyers Hill reservoir – supplies Linmeyer, South Hills, Risana, The Hill and surrounding areas
  • Rem Allandale and President Park Reservoirs – supplies greater Midrand, President Park, Kaalfontein, Ebony Park, Rabie Ridge and Ivory Park
  • Halfway House South, Diepsloot Town and Abbatoir & Market – supplies greater City Deep, Tulisa Park Stafford and Steeledale
  • Sandton No1 and Sandton No2, Malvern East, North East Areas, Linksfield Ridge Reservoir
  • Meadowlands Res North and Meadowlands Res South – supplies Dobsonville, Jabavu,Orlando, Mofolo and Dube
  • Braamfischerville Ext 12 and Braamfischer – supplies Braamfischer, Meadowlands and Mmesi Park
  • Roodepoort Deep Township – supplies Hamberg,Rand Leases, Roodepoort and Creswell Park
  • Protea Glen – supplies greater Protea Glen,
  • Hursthill reservoir – supplies Montgomerry, Albertville,Westbury,Northcliff, Greymont, Coronationville and Triomf
  • Orlando Power Station – supplies Orlando East,Orlando West, Nomzamo and kplipsruit
  • Diepkloof Reservoir – supplies Diepkloof and Noordgesig
  • Whiteridge North Ridge – supplies Helderkruin, Weltevreden park,Constantia Park, Allens Nek and Florida Park
  • Doornkop North and Corriemoor Reservoir – supplies Fairland, Blackheath and Quellerina
  • Chiawelo Reservoir – supplies Chiawelo, Klipriviersoog, Dlamini and Protea North
  • Zondi Reservoir – supplies Zondi, Molestane Emdeni, Naledi, Zola, Doornkop and Zola
  • Doornkop Reservoir and Power Park – supplies Eldorado Park, Nancefield, Pimville and Devland
  • Grobler Park Reservoir and Fleurhof – supplies Fleurhof and Lea Glen
  • Lenasia Township – supplies greater Lenasia and the sorroundings areas
  • Abbatoirs Hamburger – Florida Lake , Florida Park and Discovery ext 2 and 5
  • Boschkop Reservoir – Radiokop, Randparkrif and Weltevredenpark
  • Cosmo City – Cosmo city, Kya Sands, Northriding, Zandspruit , Hoogland, Lanseria, Moslyn park
  • Commando road and Claremont – Claremont, Industria North and Delarey
  • Cornelius street – Fairland, Weltevreden Park, Allens Nek, Randparkrif
  • Honeydew  Reservoir 1and 2 – Honeydew Manor, Radiokop, Ruimsig A.H, Honeydew Grove, Honeydew Ridge, Aanwins A.H and Ambot A.H
  • Horizon North – Georgina, Discovery, Horison and Roodepoort North
  • Noordgesig township – Noordgesig and Pennyville
  • Watervall dall and Watervar Reservoir – Bergbron, Greymont, Northcliff, Quellerina and Florida Hills
  • Weltevreden bypass – Radiokop, Willowbrook, Weltevreden Park, Poortview, Amarosa and Wilgeheuwel

Click here to access some easy water saving tips.