Sports Reporter
2 minute read
15 Jul 2021
11:28 am

Van Rhyn to lead Stormers against Lions in tourists’ final warm-up

Sports Reporter

There is also place in the matchday squad for seasoned centre Juan de Jongh.

The Stormers will be captained by Ernst van Rhyn in their match against the touring Lions on Saturday. Picture: Shaun Roy/Gallo Images

Lock Ernst van Rhyn will captain the Stormers in their encounter with the British and Irish Lions at Cape Town Stadium on Saturday.

The Stormers face the tourists in their last game before the Tests against the Springboks, with the match set to kick off at 6pm.

Former SA Schools and Junior Springbok captain and current Western Province skipper Van Rhyn will lead the Stormers out for the first time on Saturday, with the home team wearing limited edition heritage jerseys that will be used for this match only.

ALSO READ: Rassie Erasmus gives reasons for SA ‘A’ team ‘running out of steam’

Van Rhyn will be partnered in the second row by JD Schickerling, backing up a front row which features Neethling Fouche, JJ Kotze and Leon Lyons.

The loose trio will see Nama Xaba and Johan du Toit pack down on the flanks, with Evan Roos at No 8.

Godlen Masimla and Tim Swiel form a relatively experienced halfback pairing, with Dan du Plessis and Rikus Pretorius in midfield.

There is plenty of pace to burn among the outside backs, with Seabelo Senatla, Edwill van der Merwe and Sergeal Petersen making up a speedy back three.

There is some promising talent on the replacements bench, along with the proven experience of Springbok centre Juan de Jongh, who will earn his 98th Stormers cap when he takes the field.

ALSO READ: Gatland reacts to first loss by Lions: ‘We finished the stronger team’

Stormers coach John Dobson said that his team is well-aware of the honour of having the opportunity to face the British and Irish Lions.

“Any match against the British and Irish Lions is a historic occasion and we will be doing everything we can to do justice to the magnitude of this game,” said Dobson.

“The team has been highly disciplined in our bubble this week and now it is about doing everything we can on the field for 80 minutes.”

Stormers: Sergeal Petersen, Seabelo Senatla, Rikus Pretorius, Dan du Plessis, Edwill van der Merwe, Tim Swiel, Godlen Masimla, Evan Roos, Johan du Toit, Nama Xaba, JD Schickerling, Ernst van Rhyn (capt), Neethling Fouche, JJ Kotze, Leon Lyons. Bench: (from): Andre-Hugo Venter, Kwenzo Blose, Sazi Sandi, Justin Basson, Marcel Theunissen, Thomas Bursey, Abner van Reenen, Juan de Jongh, Lee-Marvin Mazibuko, Niel Otto, Leolin Zas, Cornel Smit