Sports Reporter
2 minute read
13 Jan 2022
2:48 pm

‘Accidental slip’ rules Dané van Niekerk out of women’s World Cup

Sports Reporter

The team will first play a series against the West Indies before heading to New Zealand.

Protea women's captain Dane van Niekerk is out of the World Cup due to injury. Picture: Lee Warren/Gallo Images

South Africa’s women’s Proteas cricket team have been dealt a huge blow following the news that regular captain and star all-rounder Dané van Niekerk will miss the World Cup in New Zealand in March.

Van Niekerk broke her left ankle last week, also ruling her out of the series against the West Indies which starts at the end of the month in Joburg.

Van Niekerk also won’t take part in a training camp ahead of the ODI series between 28 January and 6 February.

CSA on Thursday named 21 players to prepare for that series and the World Cup, to be held in New Zealand.

Proteas team doctor, Tshegofatso Gaetsewe said of Van Niekerk’s injury: “The injury is a result of an accidental slip on a wet surface at home.

“As things stand, she doesn’t require surgery but will be monitored closely. It’s a stable fracture with minimal displacement and her recovery timeline is no less than 12 weeks,” she added.

Despite the absence of the captain, the team ranked second in the ODI format have selected a formidable squad featuring stalwarts Shabnim Ismail, Marizanne Kapp, Ayabonga Khaka and ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year nominee, Lizelle Lee.

The list also includes uncapped Western Province batter, Delmari Tucker, while Raisibe Ntozakhe receives another opportunity to impress in pursuit of a first cap since 2018, with the likes of all-rounders, Chloe Tryon and Sune Luus, as well as seamer Masabata Klaas and wicket-keeper Trisha Chetty also in the mix.

Proteas Training Camp Squad:

Anneke Bosch (Senwes Dragons), Tazmin Brits (Senwes Dragons), Trisha Chetty ( Hollywoodbets KwaZulu-Natal Coastal), Nadine de Klerk (Western Province), Mignon du Preez (Titans Ladies), Lara Goodall (Western Province), Shabnim Ismail (Hollywoodbets KwaZulu-Natal Coastal ), Sinalo Jafta (Western Province), Marizanne Kapp (Eastern Province), Ayabonga Khaka (Imperial Central Gauteng Lions), Masabata Klaas (Senwes Dragons), Lizelle Lee (Senwes Dragons), Sune Luus (Titans Ladies),  Nonkululeko Mlaba (Hollywoodbets KwaZulu-Natal Coastal), Raisibe Ntozakhe (Imperial Central Gauteng Lions), Tumi Sekhukhune (Imperial Central Gauteng Lions) Nondumiso Shangase (Hollywoodbets KwaZulu-Natal Coastal), Andrie Steyn (Western Province), Chloe Tryon (Hollywoodbets KwaZulu-Natal Coastal), Delmari Tucker (Western Province), Laura Wolvaardt (Western Province)