Sports Reporter
2 minute read
8 Dec 2021
2:08 pm

Five Bok stars named in World Rugby’s 2021 Dream Team

Sports Reporter

The biggest contribution comes from South Africa, with three players from New Zealand.

Siya Kolisi and Makazole Mapimpi of South Africa have been named in the Dream Team of 2021. The other Springboks in the side are Lukhanyo Am, Eben Etzebeth and Malcolm Marx. Picture: Steve Haag/Gallo Images

Five Springbok rugby players, namely Malcolm Marx, Eben Etzebeth, Siya Kolisi, Lukhanyo Am and Makazole Mapimpi, have been named in World Rugby’s Men’s 15s Dream Team of the Year.

The 2021 team also features the four players nominated for the World Rugby Player of the year award, namely Maro Itoje (England lock), Michael Hooper (Wallaby loose forward), Antoine Dupont (France scrumhalf) and Samu Kerevi (Wallaby centre).

With five representatives, the Boks have contributed the most players to the Dream Team. The All Blacks have three players and the Wallabies have two, while Scotland, England, France and Wales have one inclusion each.

“To contribute a third of the World Rugby Dream Team not only underlines how good the Springboks performed in a very difficult season, but also how our individual players rose to the occasion – and this is true for more than just these five,” said SA Rugby president Mark Alexander.

Bok coach Jacques Nienaber was also full of praise for the players who were key members in the team’s success this season and said: “The entire Springbok team and coaching staff are delighted for the players.

“It is a fantastic achievement, and it shows the class and skill level of the players we have within our squad and in the country. We all share in their excitement.”

Another big day awaits the top players in the country on Friday when the SA Rugby Player of the Year nominees, along with the short-listed players for a cohort of other awards for the 2021 season, will be named.

The World Rugby Men’s 15s Dream Team: 15 Stuart Hogg (Scotland), 14 Will Jordan (New Zealand), 13 Lukhanyo Am (South Africa), 12 Samu Kerevi (Australia), 11 Makazole Mapimpi (South Africa), 10 Beauden Barrett (New Zealand), 9 Antoine Dupont (France), 8 Adrie Savea (New Zealand), 7 Michael Hooper (Australia), 6 Siya Kolisi (South Africa), 5 Eben Etzebeth (South Africa), 4 Maro Itoje (England), 3 Tadhg Furlong (Ireland), 2 Malcolm Marx (South Africa), 1 Wyn Jones (Wales).