Jacques van der Westhuyzen

By Jacques van der Westhuyzen

Head of Sport

Springboks 23 All Blacks 35 at Ellis Park — FULL TIME

One of rugby's greatest rivalries continues on Saturday when the Springboks and All Blacks clash at Ellis Park.

The All Blacks beat the Springboks 35-23 in the 2022 Rugby Championship match at Ellis Park on Saturday.

Below is how The Citizen covered Saturday’s Test.

The Boks will be a confident bunch after beating the same All Blacks team 26-10 in Mbombela a week ago, while the visitors to South Africa will be out to end a poor run of form which has seen them lose five of their last six matches.

Coach Ian Foster’s job is on the line today — if the All Blacks lose again it is almost a given he will get the sack. Captain Sam Cane is also understood to be close to being relieved of the leadership duties.

Springboks v All Blacks — Live Updates

Kick-off is 5pm. Updates will appear below. Please refresh the browser tab if required.

Ellis Park is expected to be buzzing today, with the sold-out signs going up weeks ago already, for what should be another thrilling match between the great rivals.

Both coaches have made changes to their lineups from Mbombela, with Boks boss Jacques Nienaber bringing in fit-again Duane Vermeulen at No 8, while Ox Nche, Joseph Dweba and Jesse Kriel will also start for the home team.

The match will also mark the occasion of the 50th Test for Frans Malherbe.

The biggest change to the All Blacks team is at No 10 where Richie Mo’unga replaces Beauden Barrett.


Damian Willemse, Jesse Kriel, Lukhanyo Am, Damian de Allende, Makazole Mapimpi, Handre Pollard, Jaden Hendrikse, Duane Vermeulen, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Siya Kolisi (capt), Lood de Jager, Eben Etzebeth, Frans Malherbe, Joseph Dweba, Ox Nche. 

Bench: Malcolm Marx, Steven Kitshoff, Vincent Koch, Franco Mostert, Jasper Wiese, Kwagga Smith, Hershel Jantjies, Willie le Roux

All Blacks

Jordie Barrett; Will Jordan, Rieko Ioane, David Havili, Caleb Clarke; Richie Mo’unga, Aaron Smith; Ardie Savea, Sam Cane (capt), Shannon Frizell; Scott Barrett, Sam Whitelock; Tyrel Lomax, Samson Taukei’aho, Ethan de Groot.

Bench: Codie Taylor, George Bower, Fletcher Newell, Tupou Vaa’i, Akira Ioane, Finlay Christie, Beauden Barrett, Quinn Tupaea.

NOW READ: The Greatest Rivalry: Springboks v All Blacks — As close as it can possibly get

Access premium news and stories

Access to the top content, vouchers and other member only benefits