Andre De Kock
Motorsport Editor
2 minute read
27 Mar 2014
1:00 am

Super Series visits Western Cape

Andre De Kock

South Africa's official premier circuit racing show, the Super Series, will perform at the Western Cape Killarney circuit on Saturday, with five national championship categories in action.

The day’s top billing will belong to the Bridgestone Production car category, with the tin-top brigade tackling two races. Going to Killarney, youngster Gennaro Bonafede (Sasol Audi S4) leads the Class A title chase, narrowly ahead of reigning champion Michael Stephen (Engen Xtreme Audi S4) and Hennie Groenewald (Sasol Audi S4). Any of the three could win at Killarney, as could Simon Moss (Engen Xtreme Audi S4) plus BMW 335i drivers Johan Fourie and Gavin Cronje. With just six cars on the grid, one hopes that factor will lead to close, entertaining competition.   Graeme Nathan (Genuine Parts VW Golf GTI) will top the Class T entry, marginally ahead of Michael van Rooyen (Williams Hunt Chevrolet Cruze) and Gary Formato (Ford Racing Focus ST). Chasing them will be the Castrol MINI Coopers of tin-top expert Lee Thompson and rookie Ryan Rhode, plus privateer Charl Smalberger (Sabertek Golf GTI). v Veteran Ben Morgenrood (IndyOil Mustang) will be the man to beat in the V8 GT and Sports Car races. His closest challengers should be Franco di Matteo (Varta Batteries Jaguar), Mackie Adlem (Jaguar) and Terry Wilford (Hot Wheels Mustang). Others to watch will include Larry Wilford (Motul Corvette), Willie Hepburn (Corvette), Steve Smith (Coolcat Mustang), Romano Sartori (AMC Mustang) and Steve Herbst (Prei Instrumentation Corvette). The 17 year old Jody van Zummeren (Border Towing Corvette), will also be back. Current Shelby Can-Am championship leader Alan Eve (Pilot Pens Shelby) will be on the grid to do battle with Thomas Reib (Q-Nomy Shelby), and Andrew Strike (Strike 1 Shelby). Alister Brown (NAC Helicopters Shelby), Doug MacDonald (Fantastic Shelby) and Fritz Kleynhans (Comenius Shelby) will be determined to score their first points of the season. The Engen VW Cup brigade will boast a grid of more than 25 cars, led by championship leader Daniel Rowe in his Ferodo Polo. He will face an onslaught from people like Mathew Hodges (ITR Africa Polo), Sheldon van der Linde (Ferodo Polo), Jano van der Westhuizen (VW Polo), Tasmin Pepper (PG Glass Polo), Trevor Bland (Alpine Motors Polo) and Juan Gerber ( Polo). Round two calls single-seater racers to the Mother City. Robert Wolk (Midas FVW) dominated matters in the year’s season-opening Formula Volkswagen races at Zwartkops, and he could well do so again at Killarney this weekend. Trying to spoil his day will be Nicholas van Weely (Anglorand FVW), Jason Campos (Hollard FVW), Sebastian Lanzetti (CMC Autobody FVW) and Werner Scholtz (Motorvia FVW). The current Midas F1600 leader is Scott Temple (Investchem Mygale), with Keegan Campos (Hollard Mygale), Bevan Williams (Bocal Africa Mygale) and Graham Hepburn (Suburban Body Shop Mygale) on his heels. Class B of the Midas F1600 category will see Rick Morris (Investchem Mygale) at the sharp end of the points table, leading Ian Schofield (Investchem Mygale) and Andreas Petrou (Investchem Mygale) in the fight for honours.