Avatar photo

By Motoring Reporter


Rally-Raid series preparing for Nampo double header

Penultimate round of this year's championship promises to be a bumper weekend.

This weekend will see rounds four and five of the 2022 South African Rally-Raid Championship take place around Bothaville in the Free State.

The pair of events on Friday and Saturday, each to count for full championship points, will present teams with a tough challenge, since time to remedy vehicle damage will be extremely rare. 

In the Production Vehicle Category, the battle at the front will continue between Gazoo Toyota teammates, Henk Lategan/Brett Cummings and Giniel de Villiers/Dennis Murphy in identical DKR Hilux T1+ bakkies.

They will be supported by teammates Guy Botterill/Simon Vacy-Lyle and Shameer Variawa/Danie Stassen.

ALSO READ: Bronkhorstspruit tough going for Rally-Raid contingent

Taking them on will be teams like the Horn brothers, Johan and Werner (#TeamHilux Rally-Raid Toyota Hilux), Gareth Woolridge/Boyd Dreyer (NWM Ford Castrol Ranger T1+), plus Lance Woolridge/ Elvéne Vonk, in an identical Ranger T1+

Front runners in the T1 class should include Eben Basson/Leander Pienaar (#TeamHilux Rally-Raid Toyota Hilux) Nissan Navara teams, Daniel Schröder/Ryan Bland and Jürgen Schroder/Stuart Gregory.

There will be the four Red-Lined teams of Philip Botha/Roelof Janse van Vuuren and Johan de Bruyn/Gerhard Schutte in Nissan Navaras, plus Chris Visser/Albertus Venter and Thomas Bell/Wade Harris in REVO machines.

Others to watch must include Gary Bertholdt/Juan Möhr (Toyota Hilux), Nicholas Pienaar/Carl Swanepoel (Super Energi Nissan Navara) and Schalk Burger/Henk Janse van Vuuren (King Price Mercedes Benz X-Class).

2022 Rally-Raid Series Nampo 400 preview
Gareth Woolridge and Boyd Dreyer (NWM Ford Castrol Ranger T1+) could cause the front runners a headache this weekend. Picture: Andre Viljoen.

Fighting in the new T1.2 Class for two-wheel-drive vehicles should be Lance Trethewey/Leonard Cremer (King Price Century CR6), Ernest Roberts/Henry Köhne (JCP Steel Century CR6), Malcolm/Frans Kock (JCP Steel Century CR6) and Dewald van Breda/Adriaan Roets (Century CR6).

Four Class T teams have entered, Jayden Els/Armand du Toit (King Price Renault Duster), Christo Rose/Tiaan Swart (Ford Ranger), Johan/Sean van Staden (KEC Renault Duster) and Hendrik/Heinrich du Plessis (Ford Ranger).

Leading the Special Vehicle Category will be Tim Howes/Gary Campbell (Timdrew Property BAT Spec 4), chased by Lood du Preez/Chris Visser Jnr (Farmers Meat Stryker), Trace Price Moore/Shaun Braithwaite (BAT Venom) and LC de Jager/Rikus Hattingh (Porter).

Topping Class G for Side-by-Side Can-Am Maverick vehicles are Geoff Minnitt/Gerhard Snyman (Hydro Power), Werner/Ian Mostert (Moto-Netix), Glen Theron/Craig Galvin (Moto-Netix), Peter Walter/Pierre Jordaan (Can-Am), Cecil/Elardus Larney (Can-Am) and Francois de Wit/Ewald van Rensburg (Can-Am).

2022 Rally-Raid Series Nampo 400 preview
Dewald van Breda and Adriaan Roets (Century CR6) should fight for podium places in the new T1.2 Class for two-wheel drive vehicles. Picture: Andre Viljoen.

The action on both days will takes place from Nampo Park where the Race Headquarters, the start/finish as well as the Designated Service Park will be situated.

On both days, competitors will take on the short Pirelli Qualifying Race at 07:30 to determine the starting order for the race that will start at 09:30.

The races will consist of a 166 kilometre loop and a 172 kilometre loop on Friday and Saturday respectively to be completed twice. The event can be followed on the RallySafe App.

Read more on these topics

local motorsport

Access premium news and stories

Access to the top content, vouchers and other member only benefits