Avatar photo

By Andre De Kock

Motorsport Correspondent

Sugarbelt 400: Two from two for Lategan, Cummings and Toyota

KwaZulu-Natal round went the way of Toyota overall with four Hiluxes in the top five.

The Sugarbelt 400, round two of the 2023 South African Rally-Raid Championship, returned after a six-year absence through the Eston and Mid Illovo areas in KwaZulu-Natal at the weekend, and re-established itself as a tough event.

Production Vehicles

The race was won overall by Henk Lategan and Brett Cummings (Toyota Gazoo Racing DKR Hilux T1+), leading home teammates Giniel de Villiers/ Dennis Murphy and Gareth Woolridge/Boyd Dreyer (NWM Ford Castrol T1+ Ranger).

Results of the SA Rally-Raid Sugarbelt 400
Gareth Woolridge and Boyd Dreyer (NWM Ford Castrol T1+ Ranger) finished third overall. Picture: Plan C Productions

Guy Botterill/ Simon Vacy-Lyle (Toyota Gazoo Racing DKR Hilux T1+) finished fourth, ahead of Johan and Werner Horn (Toyota #TeamHilux DKR T1+), Nic Pienaar/Carl Swanepoel (Red-Lined Motorsport REVO), Chris Visser/Albertus Venter (Red-Lined REVO T1+) Lance Trethewey/Adriaan Roets (King Price Xtreme Century CR6), Lance Woolridge/Kenny Gilbert (NWM Ford Castrol T1+ Ranger) and Eben Basson/Leander Pienaar (Toyota #TeamHilux DKR T1+).

Special Vehicles

Trace Price Moor, who missed the season opener, and navigator Gareth Aiston (BAT Venom) won the Special Vehicle category overall. They beat Tim Howes/Gary Campbell (Timdrew Property Developers BAT Spec 4), Eugene Bierman/Pieter Visser (BAT Spec 2), veterans John Thomson and Maurice Zermatten (Zarco Challenger), Ewald van Rensburg/Johan Scheepers (Can-Am Maverick), and Geoff Minnitt/ Gerhard Snyman (Hydro Power Equipment Can-Am Maverick).

ALSO READ: Sugarbelt 400 loading as Rally-Raid series round 2 gets closer

Ian Mosterd and dad Werner (Moto-Netix Racing Can-Am Maverick) took the seventh place, followed by Glen Theron/Craig Galvin in a similar Can-Am and Francois and Neil de Wit.

Results of the SA Rally-Raid Sugarbelt 400
Trace Price Moor, who missed the season opener, and navigator Gareth Aiston (BAT Venom) won the Special Vehicle category overall. Picture: Plan C Productions

There was disappointment for Class A competitors. Lood du Preez/Nick van Zyl (Farmers Meat Stryker) and the Makenete brothers, Keith and Andrew (BAT Makmobile), could not finish while Theo Erasmus/Edward Odendaal (Can-Am Maverick) had an enjoyable race until they broke a CV joint, wheel bearings and suffered a broken hub.

Next round

Competitors will now prepare for the only marathon event on the calendar, the Toyota Gazoo Racing Kalahari Botswana 1000 Desert Race that will see them return to Jwaneng in Botswana for the race on 23, 24 and 25 June.

NOW READ: Rally-Raid season opener goes the way of Lategan and Toyota

Read more on these topics

Motoring News Motorsport

Access premium news and stories

Access to the top content, vouchers and other member only benefits