Andre De Kock
Motorsport Editor
2 minute read
22 Jul 2015
8:00 pm

Full inland racing programme at the Big Z

Andre De Kock

The Zwartkops Raceway will host round five of this year's Northern Regions Inland Championship on Saturday, with eight racing disciplines in action.

LEGENDS. The Liqui Moly Legends should provide two tightly contested races.
Picture: Tony Alves

Topping the show will be two races for Big Boss Auto Super Saloon Cars, with five V8-engined Supercars taking on a variety of seriously modified tin-top machines. Frontrunners will include Supercar champion Franco di Matteo (Varta Batteries Jaguar), Ben Morgenrood (GUD Ford Mustang), Terry Wilford (Tirace Ford Falcon), Steve Herbst (Prei Instrumjents Corvette) and Amos Cockeram (Hoosier Jaguar).

Challenging them will be racers such as Willie Hepburn (Amtec Opel Rekord), Vaughn Murphy (Turbo Evolution Skyline), Raymond Goodrich (Nissan RX7), Amos Cockeram Senior (Peugeot Spaceframe), Fred Kruger (Chenrick Pumps Opel Tigra) and Jimmy Tsimenoglou (Big Boss BMW M3).

Stewart McLarty (Telscrew Toyota Conquest) will head up the entries in the Yokohama Modified Production Car races, chased by the likes of Devin Robertson (Big Boss Auto Renault), Darren Oates (Glasfit VW Polo), Roan Ehlers (Centron VW Golf), Warren Fenton (JDM Tuning Honda Civic) and Justin Oates (Ctrack VW Polo).

Mike Schmidt (Frankie’s Ford Capri) should be the man to beat in the Midvaal Historic races. His closest adversaries should be racers such as Hannes van Zyl (Nissan 280Z), Jannie van Rooyen (VW Scirocco), Seef Fourie Senior (K’archer Datsun 140Z), Alan Poulter (Datsun SSS), Colin Ellison (Alfa Sprint) and Eugene Gouws (Master Mowers Fiat 124).

Devin Robertson (Big Boss Auto Legend) will be the obvious favourite to win the two Liqui Moly Inex Legend races. Trying to prevent him from doing so will be Llewellyn Myburgh (Legend), Seef Fourie (Maxtrack Legend), Willie Erasmus (Ananzi Legend), Keagan Wessels (Tarpave Legend) and Franco di Matteo (Rock Raceway Legend).

Variety will spice up things in the Formula Monoposto races, with 19 single-seater cars taking to the tarmac. Frontrunners should include Izak Pistorius (Floatation Projects DAW GTI), John Baker (Exotic India GTI Ray), Tony Murray (GTI Swift), Nico Beets (Jabulani Speads), Louis van der Merwe (VW Commercial Witbank Swift) and youngster Charles Williamson (Isando Supa Quick Formula M).

The Silver Cup Series will see racers such as Riaan Draper (Auto Classic Fiesta Spaceframe) taking on Wiekie Luwes (Mazda RX7), Evert Seyffert (Cable Solutions Firenza), Hennie de Bruyn (Reinco Plumbing Datsun GX), Rinus Plomp (RSI Autobody Subaru STi), Cyril Jacobs (Auto Perfect VW Spaceframe) and Andre’ de Lange (ADL Roofing VW Golf).

The Alfa Romeo Trofeo events, now fullblown races, should see Anthony Theobald (Alfa Giulia) facing off against people like Shane Baartman (Alfa Romeo GT), Phillip Hendriks (PRD Alfa Sprint), Kyle Viljoen (SA Seal Alfa GTA) and Ralph Kernes (GP Windscreens Alfa Alfa).

The day’s quickest lap times should certainly come from the 250 Superkart brigade, who should buzz around Zwartkops in just over a minute. The Zwartkops gates will be open from 7am, with racing scheduled to commence at 10.30am.

Admission will cost R70 per adult, R50 per student and kids under the age of 12 go in for free.