Liqui Moly Legends: Round 11 pre-race report

A 'full banana' Red Star Raceway awaits the final round of the 2015 season

Red Star Raceway Saturday 28 November will fittingly see the Liqui Moly Legends Championship return to where the season all started – the Red Star Raceway in Delmas for the final round of the 2015 Championship. The difference this time being that the series will run the full circuit instead of the half circuit like they did before.

Devin Robertson (Pro) re-wrote the record books by claiming his third title in a row at the previous event a few weeks ago, and will be driving for pride and place at the top of the points table.

The battle for second place is far from over however with Seef Fourie (Pro) holding a slight advantage over Robertson’s team mate, Willie Erasmus (Pro). Erasmus still holds an outside chance of taking second place if things go pear shaped for Fourie on the day.

Franco di Matteo (Master) has closed the gap to Erasmus once again and will be focussed on trying to get himself into the top three at this event as well. A brace of good results from Justin Robertson (Master) has seen him jump up two places to fifth position in the championship and he could very well challenge the “Italian Stallion” for the Masters title which is still up for grabs.

Shaun Nel (Pro) moves into the top six after Llewellyn Myburgh (Pro) missed the penultimate round of the championship a few weeks ago. He is now only five points ahead of Myburgh however and the pair will no doubt be fighting it out for a top six finish in the Championship.

Keagan Wessels (Semi-Pro) holds onto eighth position despite missing the Midvaal event a few weeks ago. But he will most certainly have to worry about young Lonika Maartens (YL) who is only eighty points behind him. Fred Els (M) maintains his tenth position and will be looking to end the season on a high as well.

The long circuit will certainly bring out a new dimension for those competing, with the racing expected to be closer than ever!

Top Ten after 10 events

1) Devin Robertson (P) – 5390 points 2) Seef Fourie (P) – 4760 points 3) Willie Erasmus (P) – 4200 points 4) Franco di Matteo (M) – 3945 points 5) Justin Robertson (M) – 3420 points 6) Shaun Nel (P) – 3415 points 7) Llewellyn Myburgh (P) – 3410 points 8) Keagan Wessels (SP) – 2830 points 9) Lonika Maartens (YL) – 2750 points 10) Fred Els (M) – 2715 points

Read more on these topics

cars racing Series South Africa

Access premium news and stories

Access to the top content, vouchers and other member only benefits