SA women’s hockey squad named

The South African Hockey Association have named the SA women’s squad from whom the national team will be selected for the Africa Cup of Nations tournament, which takes place from October 23 to November 1 at a venue still to be determined.

“We are looking to establish some stability within this group by creating a core players, with five to six players that we will be looking at to secure specific positions and areas,” said SA head coach Sheldon Rostron.

“We are planning to bring more youngsters into this group as the successors to key personal like Marsha Cox, while also looking at the longevity of the team.

“We have a development plan in place that will allow us to grow players in the SA ‘A’ team, while the national team to be selected from the SA squad named today is purely focused on performance.”

Rostron added that a selection camp will take place from September 24 to finalise the 18 players going forward to the Africa Cup.

SA women’s squad: Sanani Mangisa, Lisa Deetlefs, Christine Roos, Tarryn Mallett, Shelley Russell, Bernie Coston, Carmen Smith, Lilian du Plessis (all Southern Gauteng); Phumelela Mbande, Nicolene Terblanche, Dirkie Chamberlain (all Northern Blues); Tarryn Bright, Illse Davids, Quanita Bobbs, Candice Manuel, Erin Hunter, Jade Mayne (all Western Province); Nicole Walraven, Cornelle Botha, Tanya Britz, Line` Malan, Izelle Lategan (all Free State); Celia Evans (North West); Kelly Madsen (Spar KZN Coastal Raiders).

Access premium news and stories

Access to the top content, vouchers and other member only benefits