Avatar photo

By Citizen Reporter


Mahumapelo edged further into the cold as he quits North West provincial task team

The province's now largely irrelevant chairman is being left in the political wilderness.

ANC provincial chairperson Supra Mahumapelo has quit the party’s provincial task team (PTT) in North West.

The PTT was formed in August to replace the disbanded provincial executive committee in North West.

Premier Job Mokgoro was announced as convener and Keneitswe Mosenogi as coordinator.

The PTT’s intent was to strengthen the ANC’s capacity ahead of elections in 2019.

News of Mahumapelo’s withdrawal surfaced after the PTT had a meeting at the weekend. It leaves him further isolated from power after he was forced to take “early retirement” as the premier.

This was confirmed by Mosenogi in reports. He said the PTT welcomed and respected Mahumapelo’s decision.

“As a member he can decide to accept or decline the responsibility but it’s our responsibility and that of the national executive committee to engage further and understand.”

The task team is expected to work with ANC structures in guiding the provincial government in building an election campaign.

The national executive committee initially set up the task team.

The remaining PTT members are:

  • Jacob Mokgoro (Convenor)
  • Keinetswe Mosenogi (Coordinator)
  • Saliva Molapisi
  • Susan Dantjie
  • Gordon Keagile
  • Wendy Nelson
  • Mahloa Malaoa
  • Desbo Mohono
  • Dr Motlhabane
  • Linah Miga
  • Mpho Khunou
  • Asnath Molekwa
  • Grace Moipolai
  • China Doduvo
  • Kim Medupe
  • Kabelo Mataboge
  • Lerato Teme
  • Sello Lehari
  • Rose Diphoko
  • Nono Maloyi
  • Thlapi Tsotso
  • Philly Mapulane
  • Rosho Motlalepule
  • Mmoloki Cwaile
  • Girly Nobanda
  • Thato Mogogodi
  • Ntsesang Montewa
  • Zacharia Tolo
  • Elizabeth Mabebe
  • Patric Chauke and Fenny Gaolaolwa

For more news your way, download The Citizen’s app for iOS and Android.

Read more on these topics

supra mahumapelo

Access premium news and stories

Access to the top content, vouchers and other member only benefits