Sports Reporter
2 minute read
16 Nov 2021
3:33 pm

South Africa to host 50-overs Cricket World Cup in 2027

Sports Reporter

Zimbabwe and Namibia will also host games during the tournament, held in southern Africa for the first time since 2003.

The last time the 50-overs World Cup was held in South Africa, in 2003, Australia emerged as the winners. Picture: Michael Steele/Getty Images

South Africa, with co-hosts Zimbabwe and Namibia, will host the 2027 50-overs Cricket World Cup – for the first time since 2003.

This was revealed by the International Cricket Council on Tuesday.

It will be the first time Namibia, who recently qualified and played in the Super 12 stages of the T20 World Cup in the UAE, will form part of the 50-overs World Cup.

The ICC further announced all the host nations for the major limited overs tournaments from 2024 to 2031.

In a first for major cricket and the United States, the country will host the 2024 T20 World Cup in June of that year, along with co-hosts, the West Indies, who staged the event in 2010 and are former champions.

Eight months later, in February 2025, Pakistan will host the Champions Trophy. It will be the first major global cricket tournament played in Pakistan since 1996 when it hosted the Cricket World Cup alongside India and Sri Lanka.

In 2026, India and Sri Lanka will host the T20 World Cup, before another first-time major event host in 2027.

In October/November 2027, the 50-overs World Cup will be staged in South Africa, Zimbabwe and Namibia.

A year later, in October 2028 the T20 World Cup will be played in Australia and New Zealand and 12 months later India will host the Champions Trophy.

In 2030, England will share T20 World Cup hosting duties with Ireland and Scotland. It will be the first time since 1999 that Ireland and Scotland have hosted a major global cricket event. 

The final scheduled event, in October/November 2031, will be the Cricket World Cup, played in India and Bangladesh.

2024-2031 Tournament host summary

West Indies & USAJune 2024ICC Men’s T20 World Cup
PakistanFebruary 2025ICC Men’s Champions Trophy
India & Sri LankaFebruary 2026ICC Men’s T20 World Cup
South Africa, Zimbabwe & NamibiaOctober/November 2027ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup
Australia & New ZealandOctober 2028ICC Men’s T20 World Cup
IndiaOctober 2029ICC Men’s Champions Trophy
England, Ireland & ScotlandJune 2030ICC Men’s T20 World Cup
India & BangladeshOctober/November 2031ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup