Jacques van der Westhuyzen

By Jacques van der Westhuyzen

Head of Sport

FT: Argentina 20 South Africa 36 in Buenos Aires — LIVE

The Rugby Championship is up for grabs, but the Boks will have to beat Argentina away from home to stay in the hunt.

South Africa beat Argentina 36-20 in a thrilling Rugby Championship match in Buenos Aires on Saturday night.

The world champions scored five tries to grab the bonus point to stay alive in the competition.

Below is how The Citizen reported live on the match.

Argentina and South Africa clash in a Rugby Championship match in Buenos Aires on Saturday night, with kick-off at 9.10pm.

Both teams are still in the running to win the championship title, but the fact the All Blacks won against the Wallabies in Melbourne on Thursday puts them on top of the points table and gives them the advantage going into the final round of matches next weekend. They will face the Wallabies at home, while the Boks will entertain the Pumas in Durban.

South Africa go into the game on the back of a win against the Wallabies in Sydney last time out, while Argentina came horribly unstuck against New Zealand, losing 53-3. The week before though they shocked the All Blacks, while the Boks lost to Australia.

Pumas v Springboks — LIVE UPDATES

Live updates will appear below. Please press the refresh button for latest posts.

Boks coach Jacques Nienaber has retained the same 15 starters who ran on the field in Sydney two weeks ago for this weekend’s match, while Argentina have made changes to the side that lost to the All Blacks in Hamilton.

The Boks though have brought in powerful centre Andre Esterhuizen on their bench, while Frans Steyn again provides cover at flyhalf, where Damian Willemse is starting.

Argentina coach Michael Cheika has, however, made several changes to his team following their last outing, including bringing back veteran former captain and hooker Agustin Creevy.



Juan Cruz Mallia; Emiliano Boffelli, Jeronimo De La Fuente, Matias Orlando, Lucio Cinti; Santiago Carreras, Gonzalo Bertranou; Pablo Matera, Marcos Kremer, Juan Martin Gonzalez; Tomas Lavanini, Matias Alemanno; Eduardo Bello, Julian Montoya (capt), Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro. 

Bench: Agustin Creevy, Thomas Gallo, Joel Sclavi, Guido Petti, Rodrigo Bruni, Tomas Cubelli, Benjamin Urdapilleta, Matias Moroni

South Africa

Willie le Roux, Canan Moodie, Jesse Kriel, Damian de Allende, Makazole Mapimpi, Damian Willemse, Jaden Hendrikse , Jasper Wiese, Franco Mostert, Siya Kolisi (c), Lood de Jager, Eben Etzebeth, Frans Malherbe, Malcolm Marx, Steven Kitshoff.

Bench: Deon Fourie, Ox Nche, Trevor Nyakane, Elrigh Louw, Kwagga Smith, Faf de Klerk, Andre Esterhuizen, Frans Steyn

Access premium news and stories

Access to the top content, vouchers and other member only benefits