Jacques van der Westhuyzen

Compiled by Jacques van der Westhuyzen

Head of Sport

Selvyn Davids to captain Blitzboks at Olympics: Squad and fixtures

The team includes Rosko Specman, who also featured at the 2016 Games in Rio de Janeiro.

Selvyn Davids will captain the Blitzboks at this month’s Olympic Games in Paris, following the announcement of the 14-man squad on Wednesday.

Six players with previous Olympic Games experience, including 2016 bronze medalist Rosko Specman, have been included in the Springbok Sevens squad for the tournament.

Specman, who was capped by the Springboks in 2021, will partake in his second Olympic Games, alongside Impi Visser, Zain Davids, Selvyn Davids, Ronald Brown and Siviwe Soyizwapi, who were part of the squad that placed fifth in 2021 in Tokyo.

Brown and Katlego Letebele were named as travelling reserves in the Paris squad and will only be called upon in case of injury to one of the 12 players allowed for the squad and residence in the Olympic village.

Rosko Specman
Rosko Specman is also on his way to the Paris Games. Picture: David van der Sandt/Gallo Images

Tried and tested players

Coach Philip Snyman has selected the same group of players that won the Olympic repechage tournament in Monaco last month, a victory that secured the Blitzboks the last berth on the 12-team roster for Paris.

“I could not fault the effort from the guys that went to Monaco, and it was only fair that they were rewarded for that,” said Snyman.

“The team missed out on qualifying for the Olympics during the normal series and at the African qualifiers, so the guys who did the job in Monaco deserved the opportunity.

“Also, as a team we played really well and with good understanding of each other, so it would have been counterproductive to break that by bringing in different players.

“I opted for the same guys that played in Monaco as well as Ronald, who was due to travel but picked up a late injury, and Katlego, who played in all our tournaments in the regular season apart from Madrid, when we rested some key players.”

South Africa will face Ireland, New Zealand and Japan in Pool A at the at Stade de France in Paris.
Argentina, Australia, Samoa and Kenya will contest Pool B, while in Pool C, hosts France and defending champions Fiji will face USA and Uruguay.

Blitzboks’ pool schedule (SA times):

Wednesday 24 July:

5.30pm: Ireland
9.30pm: New Zealand

Thursday 25 July

4pm: Japan

Blitzbok squad for 2024 Olympics: Christie Grobbelaar, Ryan Oosthuizen, Impi Visser, Zain Davids, Quewin Nortje, Tiaan Pretorius, Shaun Williams, Selvyn Davids (capt), Tristan Leyds, Rosko Specman, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Shilton van Wyk, Ronald Brown (travelling reserve), Katlego Letebele (travelling reserve)

Read more on these topics

Blitzboks Paris 2024 Olympics SA Sevens

For more news your way

Download our app and read this and other great stories on the move. Available for Android and iOS.

For more news your way

Download our app and read this and other great stories on the move. Available for Android and iOS.