Sport / Phakaaathi / Local Soccer

Tshepo Ntsoelengoe
Football Writer
2 minute read
23 Nov 2021
5:23 pm

Durban to host eagerly awaited Sasol League championship

Tshepo Ntsoelengoe

Nine provincial winners will battle it out for the R200 000 prize money..

Safa president Danny Jordaan during the 2021 SASOL League National Championship Draw at SAFA House on Tuesday. (Pic Sydney Mahlangu/BackpagePix)

The eagerly awaited Sasol League championship is set to be electrifying, with the tournament scheduled to take place from 6 December to 12 December in Durban.

The Sasol League Championship will see the nine provincial winners of the Sasol League battle it out for the honour of being crowned Sasol League National Champions, , with the winning team walking away with a R200 000 prize money.

.he runners up will get R100 000 and the team that finishes in third place will walk away with R60 000.

South African Football Association (Safa) president Danny Jordaan says this year’s tournament will be exhilarating following Banyana Banyana and Mamelodi Sundowns ladies successes in continental competitions

“This year’s national play offs will have an added incentive in the sense that the two provincial teams that reach the finals will be promoted into Hollywoodbets Super League to bring the total number of teams from 14 to 16,” said the Safa president.

“Durban will be abuzz with expectations especially in the backdrop of our women teams having done well on the continent – Banyana Banyana winning the inaugural Aisha Buhari Cup in Nigeria to become the best team in Africa and Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies winning the Caf Women’s Champions League.”

Senior Manager of Group Brand and Sponsorships at Sasol, Nozipho Mbatha, said the Sasol league is a good platform to identify talent.

“This platform will also allow our footballers to display their craft and skills with the hope of being noticed by talent scouts, including the coach of the National team, who graced some of our league matches during the season. We wish them luck as they demonstrate their limitless resilience and may the best team win.”

Nine provincial teams

Vasco da Gama ladies (Western Cape)

Royal Wizards (Northern Cape)

City Lads (Eastern Cape)

TS Galaxy Ladies (Mpumalanga)

Tswelelang de’Scorpion (North West)

Croesus Ladies (Gauteng)

Ixias FC (Free State)

Copperbelt ladies (Limpopo)

Lindelani ladies (KwaZulu-Natal)