Kgosi Modisane
2 minute read
8 Feb 2017
6:16 am

African stars shine as Kids’ Choice Awards nominees are unveiled

Kgosi Modisane

The likes of Wayde van Niekerk, Trevor Noah, Pearl Thusi and Lupita Nyong’o all got the nod in the Favourite African Star category.

Excitement is in the air after Nickelodeon’s announcement of the nominees for this year’s Kids’ Choice Awards, the only live event where children’s votes count and the biggest stars on the day get “slimed”.

Drafting from a pool of media platforms (including TV, film, music and pop culture), this eagerly-awaited spectacle takes place at University of Southern California’s Galen Centre in Los Angeles, the US, on March 11.

Hosted by WWE star wrestler John Cena, the awards’ ceremony – renowned for its unpredictability – will feature nine new unique categories, like Most Wanted Pet, Favourite Frenemies and #Squad, among others.

Local kids done good in this year’s Favourite African Star category include Wayde van Niekerk, Trevor Noah, Pearl Thusi, Lupita Nyong’o, Yemi Alade and Funke Akindele Bello.

Also duking it out for an award on the night will be internatrional stars Ben Affleck, Chris Evans, Idris Elba, Megan Fox, Lukas Graham, Kevin Hart, Scarlett Johansson, Dwayne Johnson, Felicity Jones, Leslie Jones, Anna Kendrick, JoJo Siwa and Melissa McCarthy, among others.

After ruling the Billboard and iTunes charts, The Chainsmokers make their Kids’ Choice Awards nominee debut with two nods for Favourite Music Group and Favourite New Artist.

Also vying for musical top honours will be musos Bruno Mars, Justin Timberlake and Twenty One Pilots, each with four nominations.

Adele, Beyonce, Meghan Trainor and Fifth Harmony have each received the nod for two nominations.

Some of the nominees and categories:

Favourite TV Show – Kids‘ Show
Game Shakers
Girl Meets World
Henry Danger
Nicky, Ricky, Dicky & Dawn
The Thundermans

Favourite Cartoon
ALVINNN!!! and The Chipmunks
SpongeBob SquarePants
Teen Titans Go!
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles
The Amazing World of Gumball
The Loud House

Favourite Male TV Star
Benjamin Flores Jr (Triple G, Game Shakers)
Aidan Gallagher (Nicky, Nicky, Ricky, Dicky & Dawn)
Jack Griffo (Max, The Thundermans)
Jace Norman (Henry, Henry Danger)
Casey Simpson (Ricky, Nicky, Ricky, Dicky & Dawn)
Tyrel Jackson Williams (Leo, Lab Rats)

Favourite Female TV Star
Rowan Blanchard (Riley)
Dove Cameron (Liv and Maddie)
Lizzy Greene (Dawn, Nicky, Ricky, Dicky & Dawn)
Kira Kosarin (Phoebe)
Breanna Yde (Tomika, School of Rock)
Zendaya (K.C. Undercover)

For more news your way, follow The Citizen on Facebook and Twitter.