Robert Garner
1 minute read
22 Feb 2017
1:34 pm

What you need to know about the Triple Crown

Robert Garner

The SA Triple Crown for three-year-olds is billed as horseracing’s ultimate test, and with good cause.

TRIPLE CROWN CHAMPION. Louis The King was the SA Triple Crown winner in 2014. Picture: Supplied

The series comprises three legs ranging in distance from 1600m to 2450m.

Four top-level races make up the series. There are alternative first-leg races – the R1-million Grand Parade Cape Guineas over 1600m at Kenilworth in Cape Town and the Betting World Gauteng Guineas over 1600m at Turffontein in Johannesburg.

This is to encourage the participation of Cape-based runners in the series.

The second leg is the R2 million SA Classic over 1800m and the third is the R2 million SA Derby over 2450m, both at Turffontein.

There’s a R2 million bonus awaiting the horse who succeeds in winning all three legs, but it takes an exceptional horse to accomplish that feat – one who combines a rare blend of speed, stamina, courage and determination. In short, a true champion!

Three horses have won the Triple Crown. The mighty Horse Chestnut, who many rank as the best horse in South African racing history, won the inaugural event in 1999,

There was then a long wait until Louis The King emulated Horse Chestnut’s feat in 2014 and Abashiri followed in their footsteps and clinched the bonus in 2016.

Full details of the 2016-17 SA Triple Crown:

Leg 1: R1 million Cape Guineas (G1) – 1600m (Kenilworth) –won by William Longsword
Leg 1: R1 million Gauteng Guineas (G2) – 1600m (Turffontein standside) – Saturday 4 March 2017
Leg 2: R2 million SA Classic (G1) – 1800m (Turffontein standside) – Saturday 1 April 2017
Leg 3: R2 million SA Derby (G1) – 2450m (Turffontein standside) – Saturday 6 May 2017

R2 million bonus for winning all 3!