Gaming and Leisure Limited
2 minute read
23 Sep 2021
4:37 pm

Malmoos and War Of Athena take aim at Joburg’s Summer Cup


The R1-million Grade 1 race over 2000m will be run on Saturday 27 November on the Turffontein Standside track.

Malmoos, seen here with Luke Ferrans in blue, is an entry to the Gauteng Summer Cup in November. Picture: Lee Warren/Gallo Images

Triple Crown and Triple Tiara winners, Malmoos and War Of Athena respectively, are among the 46 entries for this year’s Gauteng Summer Cup.

The R1-million Grade 1 race over 2000m will be run on Saturday 27 November on the Turffontein Standside track.

The first entries closed on Wednesday 22 September.

Joining Mike de Kock-trained Malmoos and Paul Matchett charge War Of Athena among the nominations is multiple Grade 1 champion Got The Greenlight from Joe Soma’s stable.

A welcome sight were entries from horses based in Western Cape and KwaZulu-Natal.

Justin Snaith has The Gatekeeper, Hoedspruit and Native Tongue while fellow Capetonian Candic Bass-Robinson has Majestic Mozart.

From KZN, Gavin van Zyl has Donald Macdonald nominated, while Duncan Howells has named Origami and Alyson Wright Matterhorn. The latter runs at Turffontein on Saturday in an MR94 Handicap – obviously an orientation outing with the Summer Cup in mind.

Other than Malmoos, De Kock has entered Al Muthana, who bounced back to form with a facile victory over 1450m on Tuesday 21 September, and Sparkling Water.

Second entries close at 11am on Monday 1 November and final entries at 11am on Monday 15 November 2021, after which the weights will be posted. Declarations must be in by 11am Tuesday 16 November 2021.

First entries for the R1-million Gauteng Summer Cup (Grade 1) over 2000m at Turffontein on Saturday 27 November:

African AdventureJoe Soma117
Al Muthana (AUS)Mike de Kock95
Ballet ShoesCandice Dawson105
BingwaDorrie Sham111
ChijmesJ A Janse van Vuuren110
Cornish PomodoroSean Tarry107
Divine OdysseyJ A Janse van Vuuren108
Don’t Look BackSt John Gray101
Donald McDonaldGavin van Zyl92
EliudCandice Dawson112
ExpressFromTheUSStuart Pettigrew122
Flying CarpetSean Tarry109
Golden PheasantB Botes / Y Vosloo107
Got The GreenlightJoe Soma126
Green HazePaul Peter106
HoedspruitJustin Snaith108
Imperial RubyCorne Spies104
Infinite WonderM G Azzie/A A Azzie92
Johnny HeroTyrone Zackey106
Majestic MozartCandice Bass-Robinson104
MalmoosMike de Kock125
MarchingontogetherSt John Gray98
MatterhornAlyson Wright101
Native TongueJustin Snaith106
NebraasSean Tarry103
NettaPaul Peter120
OrigamiDuncan Howells91
Our Coys (AUS)Joe Soma86
Pack LeaderAlec Laird105
Pamushana’s PrideAlec Laird116
Puerto Manzano (ARG)J A Janse van Vuuren113
ReunionPaul Peter99
Running BraveFanie Bronkhorst115
Salvator MundiJustin Snaith98
Savannah StormPhillip Vermeulen106
Second BaseJ A Janse van Vuuren122
SeehaamSean Tarry107
SentbydestinyCandice Dawson107
ShangoSean Tarry114
Sparkling WaterMike de Kock109
The GatekeeperJustin Snaith108
Tierra Del FuegoSean Tarry114
Tree TumboSean Tarry108
Victoria PaigeSean Tarry104
War Of AthenaPaul Matchett122
Willow ExpressSean Tarry103