Andre De Kock
Motorsport Editor
2 minute read
5 Aug 2013
10:00 am

Morgenrood’s double Free State victory

Andre De Kock

Big Ben ruled. That is how enthusiasts will remember the SA Sports and GT V8 races at Phakisa on Saturday.

VICTORIOUS: Ben Morgenrood and his IndyOil Ford Mustang. FILE PIC. Photograph:

Veteran racer Ben Morgenrood took his IndyOil Ford Mustang to both of the day’s victories, doing his prospects of winning this year’s championship overall a lot of good. Morgenrood made his intentions clear during Saturday morning’s official qualifying session, when he planted the Mustang firmly on pole position.

He followed that up by leading the opening race from lights to flag. For most of the 10 laps he was closely followed by Ferdi van Niekerk (Motorola Cordless Shelby) before the Shelby developed a stutter two laps from the end to slow him down.

That left Rui Campos (Liqui Moly Shelby) in second place ahead of Craig Shorter ( Shelby), van Niekerk, Terry Wilford (Fuchs Ford Mustang) and Alan Eve (Pilot Pens Shelby).

Race two, from an inverted starting grid, saw Romano Sartori leading for seven laps in his AMC Ford Mustang. But, coming from the back, Morgenrood and Brian Algar (Compendium Shelby) applied relentless pressure and barged their way into the front two places on lap eight.

Morgenrood went on to win from Algar, Sartori, Shorter, Campos and Larry Wilford (Fuchs Corvette). Van Niekerk’s bad luck continued when his car burst a water pipe and ground to a halt on the penultimate lap.

Lady racer Tasmin Pepper (PG Glass Polo) drove brilliantly to win the first Engen VW Cup race from Kosie Weyers (Engen Primax Polo), Mathew Hodges (ITR Africa Polo), Shaun La Reservee (Alpine Motors Polo), Trevor Bland (PG Glass Polo) and Mark Silverwood (OKI Polo). It was Pepper’s maiden VW Cup win.

Missing from the start was title contender Dewald Brummer, whose Horne UMP Polo died on the grid with electronic maladies. Brummer made no mistakes in the second race and led from start to finish.

He was followed by Shaun Le Reservee, Kosie Weyers, Mathew Hodges, Pepper and Mark Silverwood.

Robert Wolk won both Formula Volkswagen races in his Midas FVW followed by Nicholas van Weely (Anglo Rand FVW). Chris Shorter (Etana FVW) and Werner Scholtz (Motorvia FVW) shared the third places.Etana Mygale drivers Jason and Keegan Campos took first and second places in both the S1600 races, with Graham Hepburn (Suburban Body F1600) third both times.

George Ferreira (Mygale) scored two Zetec class wins leading home Rick Morris (Investchem Mygale and Alex Gillespi (Mbotyl lodge Mygale.