1 minute read
2 Sep 2013
6:00 am

Veterans rule in the GT V8 category

Old-timers on a victory charge. That is how enthusiasts will remember Saturday's Sports and GT V8 events at Zwartkops.

VICTORIOUS: Ben Morgenrood and his IndyOil Ford Mustang. FILE PIC. Photograph: Tracksidepics.co.za

Both races were won by seasoned veterans avoiding the carnage of a massive shunt that eliminated a number of contenders before they could actually start racing. The crash happened seconds after the start of the opening race.

After the restart Ben Morgenrood (IndyOil Mustang) calmly took the lead and stayed there to win. He was followed by Franco di Matteo (Varta Batteries Jaguar) and Rui Campos (Liqui Moly Shelby).

Race two, started from an inverted grid, saw a brilliant drive from Di Matteo who blasted through the field from the fourth row, took the lead two laps from the end and hung on to win.

Behind him Ray Wilford (Fuchs Corvette) held off a cautious Ben Morgenrood.

Kosie Weyers (Engen Primax Polo) won both Engen VW Cup races. On the first occasion he was followed by Jeffrey Kruger (IndyOil Polo) and Mathew Hodges (ITR Africa Polo).

The next time around Hodges finished second ahead of Dewald Brummer (MAD Polo).

Chris Shorter (Etana FVW) won the first Formula Volkswagen race from Robert Wolk (Midas FVW) who the national title.

It was just as well. His car cut out during the second race leaving Werner Scholtz (Motorvia FVW) to win while the first Formula 1600 race went to Scott Temple (Ferodo Mygale). Jason Campos (Etana Mygale) won next time out ahead of Temple and Williams.