Avatar photo

By Vhahangwele Nemakonde

Digital Deputy News Editor

Here is a list of the 48 political parties contesting 2019 elections

The parties pledged to abide by the IEC rules during the elections.

Political parties contesting the 2019 National and Provincial elections signed the Code of Conduct Pledge of the Electoral Commission of South Africa rules in Midrand on Wednesday. Only three parties were not available to sign the pledge. Political parties that will be contesting the elections on May 8 are counted to be 48.

To avoid confusion on the ballot paper, the IEC had a draw which separated parties that were seen to have similar identifiers and also followed each other alphabetically. Three parties – the AIC, APC and ANC – did the draw. In the draw, a party that draws the highest number retains its position in the alphabetical order, the party that draws the lowest of the three numbers is moved manually to the basement of the A alphabetical cluster and the party that draws the number in the middle will be accommodated in the middle of the A alphabetical cluster on the ballot paper.

As a result, the AIC retained its place in the ballot paper, while the ANC was moved to the middle and the APC was moved to the bottom of the A alphabetical cluster.

The African Security Congress will appear first on the ballot paper due to being picked in a draw.

This is the list of all contesting parties and how they will appear on the ballot box:

African Security Congress
African Alliance of Social Democrats
African Christian Democratic Party
African Congress of Democrats
African Content Movement
African Covenant
African Democratic Change
African Independent Congress
African National Congress
African Renaissance Unity Party
African Transformation Movement
Agang South Africa
Al Jama-ah
Alliance for Transformation for All
Azanian People’s Organisation
African People’s Convention
Better Residents Association
Black First Land First
Capitalist Party of South Africa
Christian Political Movement
Compatriots of South Africa
Congress of the People
Democratic Alliance
Democratic Liberal Congress
Economic Emancipation forum
Economic Freedom Fighters
Forum for Service Delivery
Free Democrats
Front National
Independent Civic Organisation of South Africa
Inkatha Freedom Party
International Revelation Congress
Land Party
Minority Front
National Freedom Party
National People’s Ambassadors
National People’s Front
Pan Africanist Congress of Azania
Patriotic Alliance
People’s Revolutionary Movement
Power of Africans Unity
Socialist Revolutionary Workers Party
South African Maintenance and Estate Beneficiaries Association
South African National Congress of Traditional Authorities
United Democratic Movement
Vryheid Front+
Women Forward

For more news your way, download The Citizen’s app for iOS and Android.

Access premium news and stories

Access to the top content, vouchers and other member only benefits