Mike Moon
Horse racing correspondent
2 minute read
23 Nov 2021
10:36 am

Good draws for Summer Cup favourites

Mike Moon

Joburg's premier race will take place on Saturday 27 November.

Gold Circle in KwaZulu-Natal and 4Racing in the rest of the country have reached an “interim agreement” for KZN racing to be aired on 4Racing’s Racing 240. Picture: Michel Bega

Favourites for the Gauteng Summer Cup, to be run on Saturday 27 November, landed good draws when the final field for Joburg’s premier race was announced on Monday.

Pole position – the No 1 starting stall – will be filled by Triple Crown champion Malmoos, who tops the betting boards at 3-1.

Second favourite Got The Greenlight (9-2) drew 10 in the 19-horse field. Third favourite War Of Athena (5-1) drew stall 5.

Other fancied runners fared less well. Sparkling Water, Bingwa, Puerto Manzano and Al Muthana will start from gates 19, 18, 17 and 14 respectively.

Highveld trainer Sean Tarry will saddle five horses for the Grade 1 event, which will once again have a purse of R2 million thanks to sponsorship by World Sports Betting. The Tarry runners are Shango, Flying Carpet, Seehaam, Tierra Del Fuego and Tree Tumbo.

Mike de Kock fields three: Malmoos, Sparkling Water and Al Muthana. Paul Peter, Joe Soma and Johan Janse van Vuuren have two each.

Five-year-old Got The Greenlight, who has run third and second in the Durban July, carries the top weight of 60kg. Malmoos has been assigned 59kg and filly War Of Athena 57.5kg.

Thirteen runners carry the minimum weight of 54kg.

World Sports Betting presents the Gauteng Summer Cup (Grade 1) R2 million 2000m:

1 (10) Got The Greenlight (Bernard Fayd’Herbe) Joe Soma

2 (1) Malmoos (Gavin Lerena) Mike de Kock

3 (5) War Of Athena (Muzi Yeni) Paul Matchett

4 (18) Bingwa (Chase Maujean) Dorrie Sham

5 (3) African Adventure (Julius Mariba) Joe Soma

6 (15) Second Base (Raymond Danielson) Johan Janse van Vuuren

7 (13) Shango (Craig Zackey) Sean Tarry

8 (17) Puerto Manzano (Keagan de Melo) Johan Janse van Vuuren

9 (6) Astrix (Warren Kennedy) Paul Peter

10 (12) Golden Pheasant (Ryan Munger) Barend Botes & Yolande Vosloo

11 (11) Majestic Mozart (Diego de Gouveia) Ashley Fortune

12 (10) Sparkling Water (Kabelo Matsunyane) Mike de Kock

13 (4) Flying Carpet (Calvin Habib) Sean Tarry

14 (8) Seehaam (Grant van Niekerk) Sean Tarry

15 (9) Tierra del Fuego (Ashton Arries) Sean Tarry

16 (16) Tree Tumbo (Selvan Moodley) Sean Tarry

17 (7) Johnny Hero (Dennis Schwarz) Tyrone Zackey

18 (14) Al Muthana (S’Manga Khumalo) Mike de Kock

19 (2) Green Haze (Sean Veale) Paul Peter