Sports Reporter
2 minute read
24 Sep 2021
11:13 am

Libbok straight in at No 10 for Stormers’ URC opener

Sports Reporter

The Cape-based will be manned in midfield by Ruhan Nel and Rikus Pretorius, with Juan de Jongh on the bench.

Manie Libbok, formerly of the Sharks, has been handed the Stormers No 10 jersey for their match against Benetton Treviso. Picture: Gordon Arons/Gallo Images

Manie Libbok will make his Stormers debut at flyhalf in the opening United Rugby Championship encounter with Benetton Treviso in Italy on Saturday.

The Stormers get their campaign underway against the Italian side in a match that kicks off at 2pm on Saturday at the Stadio Monigo in Treviso.

Libbok will link up with scrumhalf Paul de Wet, while Stefan Ungerer is also set to make his Stormers debut from the replacements bench when he comes on for De Wet in the second half.

Rikus Pretorius and Ruhan Nel are in midfield, with Warrick Gelant, Sergeal Petersen and Edwill van der Merwe forming a dangerous back three.

ALSO READ: Sharks leaning on Pienaar’s experience as veteran Bok returns

In the forward pack Springbok hooker Scarra Ntubeni will have Leon Lyons and Neethling Fouche either side of him, with Ernst van Rhyn and Salmaan Moerat in the second row.

Deon Fourie and Willie Engelbrecht are on the flanks, with Evan Roos starting at No 8 and Nama Xaba set to make an impact from the replacements bench.

Ntubeni, Moerat, Roos and Gelant are all making their return from injuries which saw them miss the final stages of the Carling Currie Cup.

Coach John Dobson said that his team are determined to get their campaign off to a positive start.

“We have named a strong team for what we know will be a big challenge to start this exciting new era,” said Dobson.

“It has been a great week together here in Treviso and we are looking forward to seeing what these combinations can do,” he said.

Stormers: Warrick Gelant, Sergeal Petersen, Ruhan Nel, Rikus Pretorius, Edwill van der Merwe, Manie Libbok, Paul de Wet, Evan Roos, Willie Engelbrecht, Deon Fourie, Salmaan Moerat, Ernst van Rhyn, Neethling Fouche, Scarra Ntubeni, Leon Lyons.
Bench: Andre-Hugo Venter, Dian Bleuler, Sazi Sandi, Adre Smith, Nama Xaba, Stefan Ungerer, Tim Swiel, Juan de Jongh.