Jacques van der Westhuyzen

By Jacques van der Westhuyzen

Head of Sport

Kolisi to captain Boks at World Cup; Am, De Jager, Pollard out

The 33 players who'll go to France to help try defend the title the Boks won in 2019 has been named.

The Springbok squad for the 2023 Rugby World Cup was announced on Tuesday afternoon.

The 33-man squad will leave South Africa on Saturday to Europe for warm-up games against Wales and New Zealand before heading to France, where the tournament starts on 8 September.

Siya Kolisi was named captain despite not playing a Test this year. He is expected to return to action in the next two weeks, against either Wales (19 August) or New Zealand (25 August).

There was no place for the injured Handre Pollard, who has struggled with a calf injury all year, while Lukhanyo Am also misses out after hurting his knee against Argentina last weekend. He is expected to be out for four weeks.

Lood de Jager, who has a chest problem and is seeing a specialist, hooker Joseph Dweba and prop Thomas du Toit also miss out.

The newcomers include Ox Nche, Marvin Orie, Jean Kleyn, Marco van Staden, Jasper Wiese, Deon Fourie, Jaden Hendrikse, Grant Williams, Manie Libbok, Andre Esterhuizen, Canan Moodie and Kurt-Lee Arendse.

World Cup squad:

Outside backs: Canan Moodie, Cheslin Kolbe, Makazole Mapimpi, Kurt-Lee Arendse, Willie le Roux

Centres: Andre Esterhuizen, Jesse Kriel, Damian de Allende

Flyhalves: Manie Libbok, Damian Willemse,

Scrumhalves: Faf de Klerk, Jaden Hendrikse, Grant Williams, Cobus Reinach

Loose forwards: Marco van Staden, Jasper Wiese, Kwagga Smith, Deon Fourie, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Franco Mostert, Duane Vermeulen, Siya Kolisi

Locks: Marvin Orie, RG Snyman, Jean Kleyn, Eben Etzebeth

Hookers: Bongi Mbonambi, Malcolm Marx

Props: Vincent Koch, Ox Nche, Frans Malherbe, Trevor Nyakane, Steven Kitshoff

Nine players have been placed on a standby list: Lukhanyo Am, Lood de Jager, Jean-Luc du Preez, Thomas du Toit, Joseph Dweba, Handre Pollard, Evan Roos, Gerhard Steenekamp

The Boks are the defending Rugby World Cup champions, having won the title in Japan in 2019.

Jacques Nienaber’s team have played four Tests this year — three in the Rugby Championship and one warm-up game last weekend, against Argentina.

Below is how The Citizen reported on the announcement.


Follow the announcement right here. For latest posts please click the refresh button.