Nandipha Pantsi
2 minute read
20 Mar 2016
11:10 pm

Local film and TV stars celebrated at Saftas

Nandipha Pantsi

Rhulani Baloyi became the first recipient of the Person with Disability Award.

Jen Su and Mampho Brescia arrive on the red carpet, 20 March 2016, at the SAFTAs at the Gallagher Convention Centre in Midrand. Picture: Michel Bega

The South African Film and Television Awards (Saftas) celebrated ten years with a glittering ceremony at the Gallagher Estate in Midrand, Johannesburg today.

The awards ceremony is South Africa’s own version of the Emmy Awards which celebrate excellence in all aspects of the film and television industry.

Veteran actress, Nomhle Nkonyeni was honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award for her contribution to local film and television. Over the four decades she’s been in the film and television industry, Nkoyeni has appeared on drama series such as Gaz’Lam, Society, Tsha Tsha and Mzansi. She’s appeared on features films such as Of Good Report, Catch A Fire and Zulu.

Former Shift presenter and journalist, Rhulani Baloyi became the first recipient of the Person with Disability Award. Having presented the show for nine years, Baloyi became a household name and an inspiration to many South Africans. She’s covered stories in Australia and the United States and was also the presenter of SAFM’s Intune.

Afrikaans Film, Dis Ek, Anna took away the biggest film award of the night – Best Feature Film. Ayanda, produced by Terry Pheto and directed by Sarah Blecher received its first local award when Fulu Moghovani won Best Actress in a Feature Film for her leading role.

“If this year is anything to go by, I can confidently say that our industry is poised for phenomenal growth and more exciting stories,” said National Film and Video Foundation CEO Safta organiser Zama Nkosi.

“For the last 10 years, we’ve committed to not only invest in productions but also to grow and celebrate the people who make a life and a living in film and television production. I look forward to the next decade and I cannot wait to be constantly surprised and entertained.”

Other winners include Saints and Sinners actors Siyabonga Radebe who took the award for Best Actor in a Drama and Nthati Moshesh who won Best Actress in a Lead Role. Ashes to Ashes actress Maggie Benedict won Best Actress in a Supportive role and e.tv’s Rhythm City won Best Soap.

The awards were hosted by television presenters Minnie Dlamini and Katlego Maboe.