Motor SportMotoring

Purdon does the double as MX titles come to a head at Rhino Park

Husqvarna rider Grant Frerichs wrapped up the MX3 title with a double win over Ian Topliss' Yamaha.

Tristan Purdon was the star of the day as he wrapped up both the 2021 Cannabis Energy Drink TRP Distributors South African MX1 and MX2 senior motocross titles at Rhino Park near Pretoria on Saturday. Grant Frerichs meanwhile won the MX3 title, Kayla Raaf is the ’21 SA Ladies and Joshua Mlimi the high school champion. Emmanuel Bako, Matthew Correia, Blade Tilley and Trenton Kretzman meanwhile took the four junior SA MX titles. Red Bull KTM hero Purdon romped to a back-to-back MX1 title with yet another premier class double over teammate and closest title rival Cameron Durow. David Goosen clinched the title third for Energy Drink Husqvarna with a tie on points for third for the day with Yamaha lad Jesse Wright as they shared out the third and fourth places. Jayden Proctor’s KTM, Arnu Saaiman on a Honda and Johan Vogelesang’s KTM were next home.

SAMX 21 MX3 champion -Grant Freirichs.

Cameron Durow did the 250cc MX2 double, but all teammate Tristan Purdon had to do was follow him home to take his second ‘21 title. Which is precisely what he did to take it by a handful of points. David Goosen took both third places too, to end third in the title chase behind Durow, with KTM duo Leonard du Toit and Jayden Proctor who were next up following a day long duel with cross-country refugee Davin Cocker’s Husqvarna. Husqvarna rider Grant Frerichs wrapped up the MX3 title with a double win over Ian Topliss’ Yamaha, with the Hondas of Bruce Viljoen and Philip Harper next up. And Kayla Raaff rode her Kawasaki to another South African Ladies Motocross title with a double win over KTM lass Leah Heygate. The De Lima sisters, Jadene and Cheyenne were next up on their Husqvarnas.

SAMX 21 50 champion – Trenton Kretzman.

Jonathan Mlimi put the finishing touches to another SA High School 125 cc Motocross championship with another double win on his Red Bull KTM. Miguel de Waal’s KTM was second in both motos. Husqvarna rider Luke Grundy and Out of Africa Monster Energy Yamaha lad Ethan Hoffman shared out the thirds and fourths ahead of Callan Broskie’s Husqvarna and Blake Young and Bryce Perersen’s KTMs. In perhaps the Cannabis Energy TRP SA Motocross title fight of the year, Emmanuel Bako completed a remarkable come from behind championship win with double 85cc Pro Mini victories over Neil van der Vyver and Ryan Adler in a Husqvarna 1-2-3. Championship leader leading into the finale, Trey Cox’s Red Bull KTM tied for fourth with Jordan van Wyk on another Husqvarna on the day, ahead of Cobus Bester. KTM kid Matthew Correia played it safe en route to his 85 cc junior title. He simply followed Tyler Petersen’s Husqvarna home to second in each race. Tyla Sheppard emerged a surprise third in the small-wheel 85 cc class ahead of regular frontrunners Andrew Venter’s KTM, Caden Weise on a Husqvarna and KTM kid Kassim Hassim.

SAMX 21 MX1 champion – Tristan Purdon.

Aiden Henley’s Out of Africa Monster Energy Yamaha was unstoppable en route to a double 65cc motocross win over title contender Blake Frost’s KTM and Husqvarna lad Sven Larsen. But none of that was enough to prevent Blade Tilley’s GasGas from scraping home to take the title with fourth on the day. He fought off Chris Brindley and Nicol Smit’s Husqvarnas for those vital points. And a win and a third en route to second on the day behind Rayden Woolls’ GasGas, was enough for Trenton Kretzmann to wrap up the baby 50cc motocross title. Yamaha lad Cassie van Zyl held Aiden Retief’s KTM off for third ahead of Lou Rademayer’s Husqvarna and Hendrico Barwise on a Gas Gas. James Riley was next up ahead of Kaylin Oosthuizen’s KTM.

SAMX 21 Ladies champion -Kayla Raaff.

2021 proved after another challenging SA Motocross year that evolved as lockdown once again caused the calendar to adapt though the season. Still, SA’s finest put on a stellar show throughout, with most teams and riders already flat out in preparation for the 2022 season. All eight Cannabis Energy Drink and TRP Distributors South African National motocross champions mentioned above remain subject to MSA ratification. The 2021 South African National Motocross Championship was proudly presented by Motorsport South Africa in partnership with Cannabis Energy Drink, TRP Distributors, Prepsol, Bridgestone, Thor, Gaerne, FMF, Pro Taper, 100%, Fly Racing, Ogio, Bandit Graffix and the Race Shop. Source: MotorsportMedia/Photos: Ruben Louw

Check Also
Back to top button