Andre De Kock
Motorsport Editor
3 minute read
4 Jun 2014
2:00 pm

Spectacular historic tour visits Zwartkops Raceway

Andre De Kock

Nostalgia will return to the Zwartkops Raceway near Pretoria on Saturday in speedy style, with more than 200 entries tackling a full day of racing during round four of the 2014 Midas Historic Tour.

The Ford Mustangs of Thomas Falkiner and Franco Scribante are expected to tussle for line honours in the SKF Pre-1966 Legend Saloon Car races. Picture: Dave Ledbitter.

Heading up proceedings will be two races for SKF Pre-1966 Legend Saloon Cars.

Front runners should include Thomas Falkiner (Sunday Times Mustang), Franco Scribante Remos Mustang), Ferdi van Niekerk (Double F Mustang), Hennie Groenewald (Mercury Cougar), Mark du Toit (TAR Chevelle) and Jonathan du Toit (TAR Chev Nova).

Fighting for Class B honours will be people like Alan Poulter (Volvo 122), Roy Prando (Alfa GTV), Clive Densham (Alfa GTV), Patrick Gearing (Alfa Giulietta) Brian Cook (Lotus Cortina) and Larry Davies (Alfa Giulietta).

The Le Mans 1968 Sports and GT category will have a new challenger with Oliver Dalais’s Ford GT40 facing the Lola T70 Spyder of Jonathan du Toit and Ross Lazarus’s Ford GT40.

Top class B contenders should be Larry Wilford (PMT Daytona), Peter Lindenberg (Lazarus Ford Daytona), Jeffrey Kruger (Chevron BMW), Warren Lombard (Cobra), Josh Dovey (Lotus Elan), Stuart Greig (Thompson Special) and Keith Hinckley (AC Cobra).

Former cricket ace Clive Rice will return in a GSM Dart, while multiple champion Dennis McBeath will be out to defend his championship title in the Mpiti Renault.

The SKF Pre-1966 Little Giants races should see a victory tussle between Frank Copping (Renault Dauphine Gordini), Trevor Tuck (Alfa Ti), Nick Parrot (MGB), plus GSM Dart drivers, Ishmael Baloyi and Chad ten Doeschate.

Others to watch will include Robin Clark (MG Magnette), André Reynecke (Volvo P1800), Josh Dovey (Austin Healy Sprite), Franco Resca (MGB), Peter Collings (Mini Cooper S) and Neil Oosthuizen (Alfa Spyder).

The events for pre 1974 Prototype Sports Cars and Trans-Am cars will have a full field.

Colin Clay will return in the Genie Lola T70, taking on Jonathan du Toit (Chevron B8), plus Chevron B19 drivers Colin Ellison and Peter Jenkins, Colin Frost (Porsche 917) and Oliver Dalais (Ford GT40).

The midfield should see a three-way tussle between the Porsche RSR entries of Dino Scribante, Rui Campos and Franco Scribante, while Ben Morgenrood will take his TransAm Ford Mustang out of retirement.

The Marlboro Crane Hire races for Pre-77 Saloons will have a massive entry, led by Anton Raaths (Mazda Rotary), André Diederichs (Elf trans Chevrolet Camaro), Colin Ellison (Alfa Romeo GTA), Jannie van Rooyen (Goldwagen VW Scirocco), Martin Botha (Datsun GX Coupe) and Djurk Venter (Ford Capri).

Klippies Krige (Lotus Replica) will head up the Sabat Lotus Challenge, chased by the likes of Jeff Gable (Toyota Birkin), John Glover (Toyota Birkin), Anton Muller (Lotus Birkin), Andrew Becker (TODA Lotus) and André du Plessis (Locost Rocam).

Matthys Strydom (Saga Ford Kent) should be the man to beat in the Investchem Formula Ford Kent races. Strydom will face off against Ian Schofield (Investchem Ford Mygale), Alan Meyer (Ford 1800), Andreas Petrou (Invest-chem Ford Reynard), Andrew Horne (Xena Ford Royale) and Graham Hepburn (Suburban Body Ray).

The events will end with a 60-minute endurance race for sports and saloon cars at the end of the day, scheduled to run after darkness.

Racing will start at 10.30am, with practice sessions from 7am. Admission will cost R60 per adult and R40 per scholar, with kids under the age of 12 going in for free.