Avatar photo

By Citizen Reporter


Axed minister Tina Joemat-Pettersson resigns as ANC MP

Three MPs who found themselves without jobs during the Cabinet reshuffle have left parliament.

Mcebisi Jonas, Dipuo Peters and Tina Joemat-Pettersson have all tendered their resignations and are no longer ANC members of parliament.

Joematt-Pettersson was replaced by Mmamoloko ‘Nkhensani’ Kubayi as the minister of energy.

She was the minister of energy since 2014, and was previously the minister of agriculture, forestry and fisheries. Joemat-Pettersson chairs the ANC Women’s League in the Northern Cape and is a trustee of the Mosiuoa Lekota children’s Fund.

Meanwhile, News24 reports that Ngoako Ramatlhodi says he is not sure if he will resign too. He is enjoying downtime and playing golf while he ponders his political future.

Former minister of tourism Derek Hanekom, who is also the chairperson of the ANC disciplinary committee, is still an MP. He tweeted on the day of the Cabinet reshuffle that he was going to remain in parliament and hold government accountable.



For more news your way, follow The Citizen on Facebook and Twitter.

Read more on these topics

Tina Joemat-Pettersson

Access premium news and stories

Access to the top content, vouchers and other member only benefits