Sports Staff
2 minute read
9 Sep 2021
12:54 pm

Thomas du Toit back for Sharks, rookie No 9 on the bench

Sports Staff

Former Craven Week captain Lucky Dlepu will back up Sanele Nohamba at scrumhalf

Springbok prop Thomas du Toit has been included in the Sharks team for the Currie Cup final against the Bulls this weekend. Picture: Richard Huggard/Gallo Images

Springbok prop Thomas du Toit has been included in the Sharks team for Saturday’s Currie Cup final against the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld.

Also, Khwezi Mona has been named in place of Ntuthuko Mchunu in a new-look Sharks front row in what is expected to be a huge scrum battle between the teams.

It is the second time in eight months that these teams clash in the final – the Bulls winning the delayed 2020 final at Loftus at the end of January.

There is also a new face in the match-23 in scrumhalf Lucky Dlepu; the 21-year-old having previously played for Western Province juniors, having captained their Craven Week side in 2017. He moved to Durban last year.

The Sharks are currently without frontline No 9s Grant Williams (Springboks) and Jaden Hendrickse (injured).

“It’s one-all in the Currie Cup, we’ve beaten them once and there’s no reason why we can’t do it again,” said Everitt on Thursday.

“We know that the ball travels far at Loftus so we’re going to have to handle the aerial battle well, but we have three players – Curwin, Sanele and Lionel – who kick really well and will be up for the challenge.

“We know the Bulls have a massive pack of forwards, they are playing well and were sublime in their semi-final. It’s all about momentum, we know what’s coming our way with regards to how they play and the emphasis for us will be about stopping their momentum and stopping their big ball-carriers.”

Sharks: Curwin Bosch, Yaw Penxe, Werner Kok, Marius Louw, Thaakir Abrahams, Lionel Cronje, Sanele Nohamba, Phepssi Buthelezi (capt), Henco Venter, Dylan Richardson, Gerbrandt Grobler, Le Roux Roets, Thomas du Toit, Kerron van Vuuren, Khwezi Mona. Bench: Dan Jooste, Ntuthuko Mchunu, Khutha Mchunu, Thembelani Bholi, Reniel Hugo, Lucky Dlepu, Jeremy Ward, Anthony Volmink